May 16 – 20, 2022
Europe/Zurich timezone

Prediction for global properties in O+O collisions at $\sqrt{s_{NN}}$ = 7 TeV using AMPT model

May 17, 2022, 7:00 PM
Theory poster Heavy Ions Poster Session I


Debadatta Behera (Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IN)) Raghunath Sahoo (Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IN))


Extensive studies at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), CERN and Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC), Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) on heavy-ion collisions such as Pb+Pb and Au+Au collisions have helped us understand the existence of Quark-Gluon Plasma (QGP) and study its properties in detail. Recent QGP-like signatures were observed in high-multiplicity proton+proton (pp) collisions. There has been intense research to understand the possible formation of QGP-droplets in small collision systems. However, to fill the gap between pp high-multiplicity and p+Pb collisions, small-ion collisions such as O+O collisions are anticipated in the upcoming run at the LHC. In such nuclear collisions, the nuclear charge density distribution inside the nucleus is a crucial parameter and affects almost every aspect of the outcomes. A three-parameter Fermi distribution (3pF) also known as the Woods-Saxon (WS) distribution is commonly used for heavier nuclei. However, for a doubly magic Oxygen nucleus, several studies replace the charge density profile from 3pF to be Harmonic-Oscillator (HO) type. In this work, we have implemented both of these density profiles in the 16O nucleus using a multiphase phase transport (AMPT) model. We report the results of global properties such as Bjorken energy density, squared speed of sound, particle ratios, kinetic freeze-out parameters and elliptic flow in O+O collisions at $\sqrt{s_{NN}}$ = 7 TeV from AMPT model for both WS and HO density profiles. This study would be a testimony for the studied global observables in O+O collisions with respect to a difference in the charge density profile when confronted with experimental observations from the LHC.

References: D Behera, N Mallick, S Tripathy, S Prasad, A N Mishra, R Sahoo, arXiv:2110.04016v1

Primary authors

Debadatta Behera (Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IN)) Neelkamal Mallick (Indian Institute of Technology Indore) Sushanta Tripathy (INFN, Bologna (IT)) Suraj Prasad (Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IN)) Aditya Nath Mishra (Wigner Research Centre for Physics Budapest, Hungary) Raghunath Sahoo (Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IN))

Presentation materials