Analysis Facilities Forum Kick-off Meeting

Alessandra Forti (University of Manchester (GB)), Alexander Held (New York University (US)), Diego Ciangottini (INFN, Perugia (IT)), Lukas Alexander Heinrich (CERN), Mark Neubauer (Univ. Illinois at Urbana Champaign (US)), Nicole Skidmore (University of Manchester), Oksana Shadura (University of Nebraska Lincoln (US))

We are pleased to announce a kick-off meeting of the HSF "Analysis Facilities Forum" organised in collaboration with IRIS-HEP, which will be held virtually on March 25, 2022.

The Analysis Facilities (AF) Forum provides a community platform for those interested in contributing to the development of analysis facilities for use within HEP experiments to develop and exchange ideas. One should interpret “development” in the broad sense, including contribution of ideas from potential end users for functionality to support the analysis of HEP data, specification and planning of the facilities themselves, and technical developments needed to realize AFs. Of course, HEP experiments have their own internal processes for developing and deploying AFs. This AF Forum is intended to support and strengthen those efforts by sharing among a broader community the key ideas and developments. The AF Forum also collaborates with related HSF Working Groups, such as the Data Analysis Working Group, the PyHEP Working Group, and with WLCG/DOMA.

The development of future analysis facilities is of great interest to the HEP community, with much recent progress having been achieved. There are numerous ongoing efforts to stand up AFs which utilize new tools and techniques to help make data analysis tasks easier, more performant and more reproducible.

All participants in this workshop must abide to the Code-of-Conduct

Analysis Facilities Forum Kick-off Registration
  • Alessandra Forti
  • Alexander Held
  • Andrea Sciabà
  • Andres Nava
  • Andrew McNab
  • Andrew Melo
  • Antonio Delgado Peris
  • Antonio Perez-Calero Yzquierdo
  • Artur Lobanov
  • Ben Jones
  • Benedikt Maier
  • Brian Lin
  • Burt Holzman
  • Charis Kleio Koraka
  • Christian Voss
  • Christoph Beyer
  • Christophe Bonnaud
  • David Koch
  • David Smith
  • Diego Ciangottini
  • Diogo Castro
  • Donatella Lucchesi
  • Doug Benjamin
  • Dylan White
  • Eduardo Rodrigues
  • Elena Gazzarrini
  • Elizabeth Sexton-Kennedy
  • Enric Tejedor Saavedra
  • Enrico Bocchi
  • Eric Christian Lancon
  • Eric Fede
  • Fengping Hu
  • Frank Meier
  • Gavin Davies
  • Gonzalo Merino Arevalo
  • Gordon Watts
  • Graeme A Stewart
  • Guenter Duckeck
  • Heidi Schellman
  • Horst Severini
  • Jakub Moscicki
  • James Frost
  • James Walder
  • Jean-Roch Vlimant
  • Jeff Templon
  • Jim Pivarski
  • Johannes Lange
  • Jose Flix Molina
  • Joshua Krystian Winter
  • Justas Balcas
  • Kenneth Bloom
  • Kenyi Paolo Hurtado Anampa
  • Krishnan Raghavan
  • Laurent Duflot
  • Lincoln Bryant
  • Lindsey Gray
  • Luis Fernandez Alvarez
  • Lukas Alexander Heinrich
  • Luke Kreczko
  • Maria Acosta Flechas
  • Mario Lassnig
  • Mark Neubauer
  • Markus Klute
  • Markus Schulz
  • Mason Proffitt
  • Matthew Feickert
  • Matyas Selmeci
  • Miaoyuan Liu
  • michael goodrich
  • Michel Hernandez Villanueva
  • Mirco Tracolli
  • Munerah alrashed
  • Nick Manganelli
  • Nick Smith
  • Nicole Skidmore
  • Nikolai Hartmann
  • Oksana Shadura
  • Oliver Freyermuth
  • Pascal Paschos
  • Patrick Pascual
  • Pere Mato Vila
  • Piergiulio Lenzi
  • Raman Khurana
  • Riccardo Di Maria
  • Robert William Gardner Jr
  • Stefan Piperov
  • Stefan Piperov
  • Sunje Dallmeier-Tiessen
  • Tejin Cai
  • Thomas Hartmann
  • Thomas Hartmann
  • Thomas Kuhr
  • Tibor Simko
  • Tigran Mkrtchyan
  • Tulika Bose
  • Verena Ingrid Martinez Outschoorn
  • Vincenzo Eduardo Padulano
  • Wei Yang
  • Xavier Espinal
  • zhengkai wu
    • 3:00 PM 3:10 PM
      Welcome and Overview (10') 10m
      Speaker: Mark Neubauer (Univ. Illinois at Urbana Champaign (US))
    • 3:10 PM 3:40 PM
      Introduction to the AF Forum (20+10') 30m
      Speakers: Alessandra Forti (University of Manchester (GB)), Diego Ciangottini (INFN, Perugia (IT)), Lukas Alexander Heinrich (CERN), Nicole Skidmore (University of Manchester)
    • 3:40 PM 3:55 PM
      AFs in the context of the IRIS-HEP AGC (10+5') 15m
      Speakers: Alexander Held (New York University (US)), Oksana Shadura (University of Nebraska Lincoln (US))
    • 3:55 PM 4:15 PM
      DESY NAF (15+5') 20m
      Speakers: Christian Voss (Rheinisch-Westfaelische Tech. Hoch. (DE)), Christian Voss (DESY-HH), Christoph Beyer
    • 4:15 PM 4:25 PM
      Break 10m
    • 4:25 PM 4:45 PM
      SWAN over Spark and HTCondor at CERN (15+5') 20m
      Speaker: Enric Tejedor Saavedra (CERN)
    • 4:45 PM 5:05 PM
      US.CMS analysis facilities: coffea-casa AF, EAF and others (15+5') 20m
      Speaker: Lindsey Gray (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US))
    • 5:05 PM 5:25 PM
      Distributed Dask-based national facility at INFN (15+5') 20m
      Speaker: Mirco Tracolli (INFN Perugia)
    • 5:25 PM 5:45 PM
      AF activities in LHCb (15+5') 20m
      Speaker: Donatella Lucchesi
    • 5:45 PM 5:55 PM
      Break 10m
    • 5:55 PM 6:25 PM
      AF activities in DOE multi-purpose computing centers (25+5') 30m
      Speakers: Burt Holzman (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)), Doug Benjamin (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US)), Wei Yang (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (US))
    • 6:25 PM 6:45 PM
      Analysis on Cloud Facilities (15+5) 20m
      Speaker: Fernando Harald Barreiro Megino (University of Texas at Arlington)
    • 6:45 PM 7:05 PM
      A kubernetes-based AF at UChicago (15+5') 20m
      Speakers: Fengping Hu (University of Chicago (US)), Lincoln Bryant (University of Chicago (US))
    • 7:05 PM 7:25 PM
      Distributing Production-Ready Software (15+5') 20m
      Speaker: Brian Hua Lin (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
    • 7:25 PM 7:55 PM
      AF definition, Snowmass WPs, AF Forum practicalities (e.g. meeting frequency).: Discussion