Indico has been upgraded to v2.3. Please see our blog for a list of improvements.
21-25 May 2012
New York City, NY, USA
US/Eastern timezone

High availability through full redundancy of the CMS detector controls system

24 May 2012, 13:30
4h 45m
Rosenthal Pavilion (10th floor) (Kimmel Center)

Rosenthal Pavilion (10th floor)

Kimmel Center

Poster Online Computing (track 1) Poster Session


Dr Giovanni Polese (CERN)


The CMS detector control system (DCS) is responsible for controlling and monitoring the detector status and for the operation of all CMS sub detectors and infrastructure. This is required to ensure safe and efficient data taking, so that high quality physics data can be recorded. The current system architecture is composed of more than 100 servers, in order to provide the required processing resources. An optimization of the system software and hardware architecture is under development to ensure redundancy of all the controlled sub-systems and to reduce any downtime due to hardware or software failures. The new optimized structure is based mainly on powerful and highly reliable blade servers and makes use of a fully redundant approach, guaranteeing high availability and reliability. The analysis of the requirements, the challenges, the improvements and the optimized system architecture as well as its specific hardware and software solutions are presented.

Primary author


Mr Alexander Flossdorf (DESY) Andre Georg Holzner (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Andrea Petrucci (CERN) Andrei Cristian Spataru (CERN) Dr Attila Racz (CERN) Aymeric Arnaud Dupont (CERN) Christian Deldicque (CERN) Christian Hartl (CERN) Christoph Paus (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Christoph Schwick (CERN) Dennis Shpakov (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Dominique Gigi (CERN) Emilio Meschi (CERN) Frank Glege (CERN) Frans Meijers (CERN) Gerry Bauer (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Hannes Sakulin (CERN) James Branson (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Dr Jeroen Hegeman (CERN) Dr Jose Antonio Coarasa Perez (CERN) Konstanty Sumorok (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Lorenzo Masetti (CERN) Luciano Orsini (CERN) Dr Marc Dobson (CERN) Marco Pieri (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Matteo Sani (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Matthew Bowen (CERN, Geneva, Switzerland) Michal Simon Olivier Raginel (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Remi Mommsen (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Robert Gomez-Reino Garrido (CERN) Samim Erhan (Univ. of California Los Angeles (US)) Sebastian Bukowiec (CERN) Sergio Cittolin (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Ulf Behrens (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Vivian O'Dell (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL)) Yi Ling Hwong (CERN)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.