21-25 May 2012
New York City, NY, USA
US/Eastern timezone

Distributed error and alarm processing in the CMS data acquisition system

24 May 2012, 13:30
4h 45m
Rosenthal Pavilion (10th floor) (Kimmel Center)

Rosenthal Pavilion (10th floor)

Kimmel Center

Poster Online Computing (track 1) Poster Session


Andrea Petrucci (CERN)


The Error and Alarm system for the data acquisition of the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) at CERN is successfully used for the physics runs at Large Hadron Collider (LHC) during the first three years of activities. Error and alarm processing entails the notification, collection, store and visualization of all exceptional conditions occurring in the highly distributed CMS online system using a uniform scheme. Alerts and reports are shown on-line by web application facilities that map them to graphical models of the system as defined by the user. A persistency service keeps history of all exceptions occurred, allowing subsequent retrieval of user defined time windows of events for later playback or analysis. The paper describes the architecture and the technologies used and deals with operational aspects during the first years of LHC. In particular it focuses on performance, stability and integration with the CMS sub-detectors.

Primary author


Mr Alexander Flossdorf (DESY) Andre Georg Holzner (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Andrei Cristian Spataru (CERN) Dr Attila Racz (CERN) Aymeric Arnaud Dupont (CERN) Christian Deldicque (CERN) Christian Hartl (CERN) Christoph Paus (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Christoph Schwick (CERN) Dennis Shpakov (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Dominique Gigi (CERN) Emilio Meschi (CERN) Frank Glege (CERN) Frans Meijers (CERN) Gerry Bauer (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Dr Giovanni Polese (CERN) Hannes Sakulin (CERN) James Branson (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Dr Jeroen Hegeman (CERN) Dr Jose Antonio Coarasa Perez (CERN) Konstanty Sumorok (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Lorenzo Masetti (CERN) Luciano Orsini (CERN) Dr Marc Dobson (CERN) Marco Pieri (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Matteo Sani (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Matthew Bowen (University of the West of England) Michal Simon Olivier Raginel (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Remi Mommsen (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Robert Gomez-Reino Garrido (CERN) Samim Erhan (Univ. of California Los Angeles (US)) Sebastian Bukowiec (CERN) Sergio Cittolin (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Ulf Behrens (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Vivian O'Dell (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL)) Yi Ling Hwong (CERN)

Presentation Materials