21-25 May 2012
New York City, NY, USA
US/Eastern timezone

The DESY Grid Centre

22 May 2012, 13:30
4h 45m
Rosenthal Pavilion (10th floor) (Kimmel Center)

Rosenthal Pavilion (10th floor)

Kimmel Center

Poster Computer Facilities, Production Grids and Networking (track 4) Poster Session


Andreas Haupt (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE))


DESY is one of the world-wide leading centers for research with particle accelerators, synchrotron light and astroparticles. DESY participates in LHC as a Tier-2 center, supports on-going analyzes of HERA data, is a leading partner for ILC, and runs the National Analysis Facility (NAF) for LHC and ILC in the framework of the Helmholtz Alliance, Physics at the Terascale. For the research with synchrotron light major new facilities are operated and built (FLASH, PETRA-III, and XFEL). DESY furthermore acts as Data-Tier1 centre for the Neutrino detector IceCube. Established within the EGI-project DESY operates a Grid infrastructure which supports a number of virtual Organizations (VO), incl. ATLAS, CMS, and LHCb. Furthermore, DESY is the home for some of HEP and non-HEP VOs, such as the HERA experiments and ILC as well as photon science communities. The support of the new astroparticle physics VOs IceCube and CTA is addressed. As the global structure of the Grid offers huge resources which are perfect for batch-like computing, DESY has set up the National Analysis Facility (NAF) which complements the Grid to allow German HEP users for efficient data analysis. The Grid Infrastructure and the NAF are based on and coupled via the data which is distributed via the Grid. We call the conjunction of Grid and NAF the DESY Grid centre. In the contribution to CHEP2012 we will in depth discuss the conceptional and operational aspects of our multi-VO and multi-community Grid centre and present the system set-up. We will in particular focus on the interplay of Grid and NAF and present experiences of the operations.

Primary author

Andreas Haupt (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE))


Dr Andreas Gellrich (DESY) Dmitry Ozerov (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Kai Leffhalm (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Dr Peter Wegner (DESY) Yves Kemp (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE))

Presentation Materials