May 21 – 25, 2012
New York City, NY, USA
US/Eastern timezone

Upgrade of the CMS Event Builder

May 21, 2012, 5:00 PM
Room 804/805 (Kimmel Center)

Room 804/805

Kimmel Center

Parallel Online Computing (track 1) Online Computing


Andrea Petrucci (CERN)


The Data Acquisition (DAQ) system of the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment at CERN assembles events at a rate of 100 kHz, transporting event data at an aggregate throughput of 100 GB/s. By the time the LHC restarts after the 2013/14 shut-down, the current compute nodes and networking infrastructure will have reached the end of their lifetime. We are presenting design studies for an upgrade of the CMS event builder based on advanced networking technologies such as 10 Gb/s Ethernet. We report on tests and performance measurements with small-scale test setups.
Student? Enter 'yes'. See no

Primary authors

Mr Alexander Flossdorf (DESY) Andre Georg Holzner (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Andrea Petrucci (CERN) Andrei Cristian Spataru (CERN) Dr Attila Racz (CERN) Aymeric Arnaud Dupont (CERN) Christian Deldicque (CERN) Christian Hartl (CERN) Christoph Paus (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Christoph Schwick (CERN) Dennis Shpakov (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Dominique Gigi (CERN) Emilio Meschi (CERN) Frank Glege (CERN) Frans Meijers (CERN) Gerry Bauer (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Dr Giovanni Polese (CERN) Hannes Sakulin (CERN) Mr James Branson (UC San Diego) Dr Jeroen Hegeman (CERN) Dr Jose Antonio Coarasa Perez (CERN) Konstanty Sumorok (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Lorenzo Masetti (CERN) Luciano Orsini (CERN) Dr Marc Dobson (CERN) Marco Pieri (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Matteo Sani (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Matthew Bowen (University of the West of England) Michal Simon Olivier Raginel (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Remi Mommsen (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Robert Gomez-Reino Garrido (CERN) Samim Erhan (Univ. of California Los Angeles (US)) Sebastian Bukowiec (CERN) Sergio Cittolin (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Ulf Behrens (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Vivian O'Dell (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL)) Yi Ling Hwong (CERN)

Presentation materials