Jun 2 – 6, 2014
Beurs van Berlage
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Construction and commissioning of the KLOE-2 Inner Tracker

Jun 3, 2014, 5:10 PM
Berlagezaal (Beurs van Berlage)


Beurs van Berlage

Oral Sensors: 1c) Gaseous Detectors I.c Gaseous


Gianfranco Morello (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT))


The KLOE-2 experiment is starting its data taking at the DAΦNE ϕ-factory at the Frascati National Laboratory of the INFN. The experiment is continuing the successful physics program of KLOE, that collected 2.5 fb-1 of integrated luminosity between 2001 and 2006. For the new data taking campaign the detector, consisting of a huge Drift Chamber and a Electromagnetic Calorimeter working in a 0.5 T axial magnetic field, has been upgraded. One of the upgrades involves the tracking system, with the insertion of a GEM-based detector in the space separating the DAΦNE interaction region and the inner wall of the Drift Chamber. The Inner Tracker, composed of four coaxial cylindrical triple-GEMs, is a kapton-based detector allowing us to keep the total material budget below 2% X0, as required in order to minimize the multiple scattering of low-momentum tracks. Novel and advanced solutions were developed to cope with the challenging problems that arose during the construction phase. The tracker achieves 200 μm spatial resolution in the transverse plane and 500 μm along the beam direction. The two coordinates are provided by a dedicated XV readout pattern coupled to the GASTONE front-end, a 64 channel ASIC with digital output specially developed for this detector. The first results from the commissioning of the detector will be shown, including the preliminary response of the detector to cosmic-ray muons and DAΦNE beam interactions.

Primary author

Gianfranco Morello (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT))


Alessandro Balla (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Alessandro Pelosi (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare Sezione di Roma 1) Anthony Palladino (LNF-INFN) Antonio Budano (Roma Tre Universita Degli Studi (IT)) Antonio Di Domenico (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Antonio Ranieri (Universita e INFN (IT)) Danilo Domenici (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Edisher Tskhadadze (Joint Inst. for Nuclear Research (RU)) Erika De Lucia (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Eryk Czerwinski (LNF-INFN) Giampiero Fanizzi (INFN Sezione di Bari (IT)) Giovanni Bencivenni (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Giulietto Felici (Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (LNF)) Giuseppe De Robertis (Universita e INFN (IT)) Jing Dong (INFN) Lina Quintieri (LNF-INFN) Manlio Capodiferro ("Sapienza" Università di Roma (IT)) Maurizio Gatta (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Maurizio Mongelli (INFN Sezione di Bari (IT)) Nicola Lacalamita (Universita e INFN (IT)) Dr Paolo Branchini (Roma Tre Universita Degli Studi (IT)) Paolo Ciambrone (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Raffaele Liuzzi (INFN Sezione di Bari (IT)) Stefano Cerioni (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Vincenzo Valentino (INFN Sezione di Bari (IT))

Presentation materials