14-18 October 2013
Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

The readout and control system of the mid-size telescope prototype of the Cherenkov Telescope Array

14 Oct 2013, 17:25
Verwey Kamer (Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage)

Verwey Kamer

Amsterdam, Beurs van Berlage

Oral presentation to parallel session Data acquisition, trigger and controls Data Acquisition, Trigger and Controls


Dr Igor Oya (Humboldt University)


The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) is one of the major ground-based astronomy projects being pursued and will be the largest facility for ground-based gamma-ray observations ever built. CTA will consist of two arrays: one in the Northern hemisphere composed of about 20 telescopes, and the other one in the Southern hemisphere composed of about 100 telescopes, both arrays containing telescopes of several sizes. A prototype for the Mid-Size Telescope (MST) with a diameter of 12 m has been installed in Berlin and is currently being commissioned. This prototype is composed of a mechanical structure, a drive system and mirror facets mounted with powered actuators to enable active control. Five Charge-Coupled Device (CCD) cameras, and a wide set of sensors allow the evaluation of the performance of the instrument. The design of the control software is following concepts and tools under evaluation within the CTA consortium in order to provide a realistic test-bed for the middleware: 1) The readout and control system for the MST prototype is implemented with the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) Common Software (ACS) distributed control middleware; 2) the OPen Connectivity-Unified Architecture (OPC UA) is used for hardware access; 3) MySQL databases are used for archiving the slow control monitoring data and operation configuration parameters storage; and 4) the document oriented MongoDB database is used for an efficient storage of CCD images, logging and alarm information. In this contribution, the details on the implementation of the control system for this MST prototype telescope are described.

Primary authors

Dr Bagmeet Behera (DESY, Zeuthen) Mr David Melkumyan (DESY, Zeuthen) Mr Ekrem Oguzhan Anguner (Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin) Mr Emrah Birsin (Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin) Dr Igor Oya (Humboldt University) Dr Matthias Fuessling (Universtitaet Potsdam) Dr Peter Wegner (DESY) Mr Ronny Sternberge (DESY, Zeuthen) Stephan Wiesand (DESY) Dr Torsten Schmidt (DESY, Zeuthen) Dr Ullrich Schwanke (Humboldt University Berlin)

Presentation Materials