nuSTORM meeting



Elena Wildner (CERN), Kenneth Long (Imperial College London)

The unique Neutrino beam available at the nuSTORM facility has the potential to transform our approach to neutrino-interaction physics, offering a “neutrino light source” to physicists from a number of disciplines.

The results of LSND and MiniBooNE, along with the recent papers on a possible reactor-neutrino-flux anomaly, give tantalizing hints of new physics. Models beyond the "Standard Neutrino Model" have been developed to explain these results and involve one or more additional neutrinos that have no Standard Model interactions (“sterile neutrinos"). 

The nuSTORM facility will produce neutrino beams from the decay of a stored muon beam with a central momentum of 3.8 GeV and a momentum spread of 10%. A detector located at a distance of ~1600m will be capable of making sensitive searches for neutrino oscillations with frequencies corresponding to mass-squared differences in the eV2 range in both appearance and disappearance modes. The facility will also serve a suite of near detectors situated at ~50m from the end of one of the straight sections of the storage ring. The near-detector facility will deliver nu_e N and nu_mu N cross-section measurements with a precision at the percent level.

The status of the nuSTORM facility and its physics potential will be presented. The aim of this meeting is to discuss the nuSTORM facility, its implementation at CERN and at FNAL, and to discuss the development of a nuSTORM programme in Europe that will be presented as an EOI to the SPSC in April 2013.

A draft version of the EoI is available here

  • Alan Bross
  • Alex Bogacz
  • Christopher Booth
  • Christopher Tunnell
  • David Adey
  • David Wark
  • Edward Santos
  • Elena Wildner
  • Etam Noah
  • Ian Taylor
  • Jaroslaw Pasternak
  • Jonathan Link
  • Kenneth Long
  • Lars Soby
  • Liu Ao
  • Luca Stanco
  • Lucio Ludovici
  • Ludovico TORTORA
  • Marcos Dracos
  • Maurizio Bonesini
  • Melissa George
  • Michael Geelhoed
  • Nikolaos Vassilopoulos
  • Paul Soler Jermyn
  • Ryan Bayes
  • Stephen Parke
  • Steven Boyd
  • Vittorio Palladino