Performance of the Latest MPPCs with Reduced Dark Counts and Improved Photon Detection Efficiency

Sep 5, 2013, 11:40 AM
Dahlia (B2F) (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

Dahlia (B2F)

International Conference Center Hiroshima

1-5 Nakajima-cho Naka-ku, Hiroshima Japan
ORAL Applications in High Energy Physics Session 6


Takayuki Tsujikawa (Waseda University)


We have tested the performance of two types of the latest Multi-Pixel Photon Counters (MPPCs; measuring 3 x 3 mm^2 in size) developed by Hamamatsu Photonics K.K. The new S12572-050C is a successor to the S10362-33-050C (i.e., conventional 3 x 3-mm^2 pixel MPPC of 50-μm pitch), comprises 3,600 Geiger mode avalanche photodiodes (APDs), and also features high gain (~ 1.25 x 10^6), a low dark count (~ 10^6 cps), and improved photon detection efficiency (PDE) of ~35%. The S12572-015C is a new type of fine-pitch (15 μm) MPPC featuring a wide dynamic range and fast timing response. This paper first presents the detailed performance of these latest MPPCs as photon counting devices. It then describes our fabrication of a prototype detector consisting of a MPPC optically coupled with a Ce:GAGG scintillator. We obtained average FWHM energy resolutions of 9.0% (S12572-015C) and 10.9% (S12572-050C), as compared to 11.7% (S10362-33-050) for 662-keV gamma rays from the 137Cs source, as measured at 20°C. Moreover, the number of fired pixels for 662-keV gamma rays increased by 14.2% for S12572-050C (as compared to S10362-33-050), thus indicating more than a 10% improvement in PDE around the light emission peak of Ce:GAGG at 480 nm. We also confirmed that the low energy threshold improved from 10 keV to 4 keV, when using the latest MPPC device (S12572-050C). The results thus confirm that these new types of MPPCs are promising for various applications as scintillation detectors.

Primary author

Takayuki Tsujikawa (Waseda University)


Hiroshi Funamoto (Waseda University) Jun Kataoka (Waseda University) Kazuhisa Yamamura (HAMAMATSU PHOTONICS K.K.) Kenichi Sato (HAMAMATSU PHOTONICS K.K.) Nobuyuki Kawabata (HAMAMATSU PHOTONICS K.K.) Shigeyuki Nakamura (HAMAMATSU PHOTONICS K.K.) Takuya FUJITA (Waseda University) Toru Nishiyama (Waseda University) Yohta KUREI (Waseda University)

Presentation materials