June 28, 2015 to July 2, 2015
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort
Etc/GMT-7 timezone

Development of HTS induction/synchronous drive motor aiming for low carbon emission transportation systems

Jun 30, 2015, 4:30 PM
Tucson Ballroom IJ

Tucson Ballroom IJ

Contributed Oral Presentation CEC-09 - Cryogenics for Power Applications, Energy, Fuels and Transportation C2OrH - Cryogenics for Power Applications, Energy, Fuels and Transformation II


Taketsune Nakamura (Kyoto University)


Our research group has developed 20 kW class High Temperature Superconductor (HTS) Induction/Synchronous Motor (HTS-ISM) for the realization of low carbon emission transportation systems, such as ship, train, bus, track, middle sized automobile. We have developed (1) high efficiency and high torque density HTS-ISM, (2) optimal operation code for the variable speed and/or torque control, (3) low thermal invasion and small sized cryostat and (4) high efficiency stirling-type cryocooler. It was shown that the fabricated motor could realize rated output power of 20 kW at the synchronous mode rotation (1800 rpm). Furthermore, the motor showed the slip mode rotation with the output power of 26.8 kW, and this result indicates the realization of so-called “overload tolerance”. The fabricated motor was also operated for the variable speed control, and the rotation stability was successfully clarified. Current status of Stirling-type cryocooler development is also to be presented and discussed. *This work has been supported by Japan Science and Technology Agency under the program of Advanced Low Carbon Technology Research and Development Program (JST-ALCA).*

Primary author

Taketsune Nakamura (Kyoto University)


Mr Jun Watanabe (Kyoto University) Mr Keitaro Muranaka (Kyoto University) Mr Masaaki Yoshikawa (IMRA MATERIAL R&D Co., Ltd) Dr Mitsuho Furuse (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology) Prof. Naoyuki Amemiya (Kyoto University) Prof. Satoshi Fukui (Niigata University) Mr Shinya Okajima (Kyoto University) Mr Shuhei Iriyama (Kyoto University) Mr Takuro Ogasa (Kyoto University) Mr Tatsuo Nishimura (Kyoto University) Mr Toshihisa Terazawa (IMRA MATERIAL R&D Co., Ltd) Mr Yoshimasa Ohashi (AISIN SEIKI Co., Ltd) Dr Yoshitaka Itoh (IMRA MATERIAL R&D Co., Ltd)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.