Jul 5 – 12, 2017
Venice, Italy
Europe/Zurich timezone
Get the schedule and slides on your phone/tablet using the Conference4me app

The SST-1M Cherenkov telescope for high-energy gamma-ray astronomy and its SiPM-based camera

Jul 8, 2017, 9:45 AM
Room Casinò (Palazzo del Casinò)

Room Casinò

Palazzo del Casinò

Parallel Talk Astroparticle Physics Astroparticle physics


Victor Coco (Universite de Geneve (CH))


An array of about 70 small-sized telescope will cover the high-end of the gamma ray energy spectrum at the southern site
of the Cherenkov telescope array (CTA). They will offer an unprecedented insight on the energetic processes in the range
1-300TeV originated in galactic and extragalactic sources.
The SST-1M is one of the three implementations of those small-sized telescopes and consists of an innovative digital
camera based on silicon photo-multipliers mounted on a Davis-Cotton optics with a single segmented 4-m diameter mirror.

The telescope, the photo-detection plane, its digital readout and its trigger system will be described, together with
the test setup realised to fully characterise the camera and the calibration strategy to operate it. This test setup
allows us to asses the performances of the camera, from the single silicon photo-multiplier response to the overall
trigger rate and efficiencies. The performances of the system will be discussed and compared to end-to-end simulations
of the telescope.

Experimental Collaboration SST-1M Collaboration and the CTA consortium

Primary authors

Victor Coco (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Domenico Della Volpe (Universitè de Genève) Matthieu Heller (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Cyril Martin Alispach (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Theodore Njoh Ekoume (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Imen Al Samarai (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Frank Raphael Cadoux (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Yannick Favre (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Teresa Montaruli Andrii Nagai (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Isaac Troyano Pujadas (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Etienne Lyard (University of Geneva) Vitalii Sliusar (Université de Genève) Andrii Neronov (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Roland Walter (University of Geneva) Emil Mach (IFJ) Jerzy Michalowski (High Energy Department) Jacek Niemiec (Institute of Nuclear Physics PAS) Magdalena Stodulska (Institute of Nuclear Physics PAS) Michal Ostrowski (Jagiellonian University) Dr Lukasz Stawarz (Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland) Krzysztof Zietara (Jagiellonian University) Paweł Paśko (SRC PAS) Mr Jerzy Borkowski Rafal Moderski (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center) Kris Lalik (AGH-UST) Dr Dusan Mandat (Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) Miroslav Pech (Academy of Science Czech Republic) J. Blocki (IFJ) J. Rafalski (IFJ) K. Skowron (IFJ) M. Stodulski (IFJ) T. Bulik (University of Warsaw) M. Grudzinska (University of Warsaw) M. Jamrozy (Jagiellonian University) A. Zagdanski (Jagiellonian University) K. Seweryn (SRC PAS) A. Frankowski (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center) M. Janiak (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center) W. Bilnik (AGH University of Science and Technology) J. Kasperek (AGH University of Science and Technology) P. Rajda (AGH University of Science and Technology) M. Wiecek (AGH University of Science and Technology) P. Schovanek (Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Olomouc)

Presentation materials