Feb 22 – 27, 2010
Jaipur, India
Europe/Zurich timezone

AliEn2 and beyond

Not scheduled
Jaipur, India

Jaipur, India

Jaipur, India
Poster Computing Technology for Physics Research

Speaker

Pablo Saiz (CERN)

Description

At the time of this conference, the ALICE experiment will have already data from the LHC accelerator at CERN. ALICE uses AliEn to be able to distribute and analyze all this data among the more than eighty sites that participate in the collaboration. AliEn is a system that allows the use of distributed computing and storage resources all over the world. It hides the differences between the heterogeneous components, providing a simple and intuitive interface to the end users. AliEn is also used by other high energy physics experiments like CBM and PANDA. AliEn has been improved over the last eight years to be able to cope with computing projects like the ones of the LHC experiments. During this time, a number of exercises of increasing scale and complexity have been performed to evaluate if AliEn would be up to the challenge. All those exercises helped to identify the components that needed to be improved. Finally, the time for tests and exercises is over. This contribution will describe if AliEn was ready for the data taking, and the main lessons that were learned once the detector started collecting data.

Summary

S. Bagnasco, L. Betev, F. Carminati, O. Datskova, F. Furano, A. Grigoras, C.

Grigoras, S. Lee, P. Mendez Lorenzo, A. Peters, P. Saiz, S. Schreiner

bagnasco@to.infn.it bagnasco@to.infn.it, Alina Gabriela Grigoras alina.gabriela.grigoras@cern.ch, Costin Grigoras Costin.Grigoras@cern.ch, Federico Carminati Federico.Carminati@cern.ch, Olga Vladimirovna Datskova olga.vladimirovna.datskova@cern.ch, Sehoon Lee sehooi@gmail.com, Patricia Mendez Lorenzo Patricia.Mendez@cern.ch, Andreas Joachim Peters Andreas.Joachim.Peters@cern.ch, Steffen Schreiner Steffen.Schreiner@cern.ch, Fabrizio Furano Fabrizio.Furano@cern.ch
References: 4AFD950B.1070500@cern.ch

Primary authors

Presentation materials