Apr 9 – 13, 2018
Beurs van Berlage
Europe/Zurich timezone

Update on the potential of Bi-2212 for high field magnet use

Apr 10, 2018, 1:30 PM
P2 Graanbeurszaal (0.5)

P2 Graanbeurszaal


Board: 2AMS07A
EASItrain Magnets


David Larbalestier (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory)


"Making HTS conductors constrained by the poor superconducting properties of grain boundaries suitable for high field magnet and especially for accelerator use has been a 30 year odyssey. At the NHMFL we have placed particular emphasis on Bi-2212 because of its round-wire, multifilament architecture. Over the last several years we have shown that it can be processed into high Jc forms that can be used for small high field magnets at >30 T, that its flexible architecture can be realized industrially, that its overall wire Jc can exceed that of any other HTS conductor (except for REBCO in H||ab orientation) and that it is functionally isotropic, possessed of a low hysteretic loss (very similar to ITER Nb3Sn conductors) with a high conductivity normal matrix without any need for a diffusion barrier. At 20 T, 4.2 K its supercurrent Jc has now reached 6000 A/mm2 (whole wire Jc ~1200 A/mm2 with present 20% fill factors) in industrially produced wires of lengths > 1 km. In short, both for solenoids tested at the NHMFL, and in racetrack coils made by Shen at LBL, the promise of Bi-2212 for high field applications made major strides in 2017. I will summarize recent progress in the Bi-2212 effort at the NHMFL and our interactions with B-OST, US powder producers and LBL relevant to this effort.

We would like to thank our collaborators at Bruker-OST, nGimat, MetaMateria and LBL and funding support from the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of High Energy Physics under Award Number DE-SC0010421. A portion of this work was performed at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, which is supported by National Science Foundation Cooperative Agreement No. DMR-1157490 and the State of Florida. "

Primary author

David Larbalestier (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory)


Eric Hellstrom (Florida) Fumitake Kametani (Florida State University (US)) Jianyi Jiang (Florida State University) Ulf Trociewitz (NHMFL)

Presentation materials