Apr 9 – 13, 2018
Beurs van Berlage
Europe/Zurich timezone

The micro-Resistive-WELL (μ-RWELL) detector for large area muon systems at future Circular Colliders

Apr 10, 2018, 5:00 PM
1h 30m
Beurs van Berlage

Beurs van Berlage

Damrak 243, 1012 ZJ Amsterdam, Netherlands
Board: 2AMSP35
FCC-hh Phy/Exp Poster session


Dr Giovanni Bencivenni (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT))


The μ-RWELL has been conceived as a compact, simple and robust Micro-Pattern Gaseous Detector for large area HEP applications in a harsh environment. The detector amplification stage is realized with a polyimide foil micro-patterned with a blind-hole matrix embedded through a thin DLC resistive layer in the readout PCB. The introduction of this layer, mitigating the transition from streamer to spark, allows to achieve large gains (>104).
Different PCB layouts have been studied: the simplest one, based on a single-resistive layer with edge grounding, has been designed for low-rate applications (<30-40 kHz/cm2); while more sophisticated schemes are under study for high-rate purposes (>1 MHz/cm2).
The single-resistive layer scheme has been tested and validated, being ready for applications in HEP (CMS, SHiP).
High rate versions of the µ-RWELL are under development at LNF-INFN in collaboration with the CERN PCB-Workshop and are suitable for large area muon systems at future hadron colliders.
After an introduction on the principle of operation of the detector, we will present an overview of the performance: gain, space and time resolution, rate capability and aging studies. We will discuss the preliminary results of a recent analysis based on the micro-TPC mode, allowing a uniform space resolution of better than 100µm for non-orthogonal. An overview of the different architectures under study for the high rate version of the detector will be eventually presented.

Primary author

Dr Giovanni Bencivenni (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT))


R. De Oliveira (CERN) L. Lavezzi (IHEP) Dr Antonio Ranieri (INFN Bari) Lisa Borgonovi (Universita e INFN, Bologna (IT)) Sylvie Braibant-Giacomelli (Universita e INFN, Bologna (IT)) Simranjit Singh Chhibra (Universita e INFN, Bologna (IT)) Paolo Giacomelli (INFN Sezione di Bologna) Gianluigi Cibinetto (INFN Ferrara) Riccardo Farinelli (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT)) Giulietto Felici (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)) Maurizio Gatta (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)) M. Giovannetti (INFN LNF) Gianfranco Morello (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)) Marco Poli Lener (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)) Marco Maggiora (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Atsuhiko Ochi (Kobe University (JP))

Presentation materials