Jun 24 – 28, 2019
Crowne Plaza Brussels Le Palace
Europe/Zurich timezone

FCC-hh Nb3Sn wire development: exploring the microstructure of prototype samples.

Jun 25, 2019, 3:30 PM
Klimt (Ground floor)


Ground floor

Poster Superconducting magnets & associated technologies Poster session


Mrs Alice Moros (Technische Universität Wien)


A key requirement for the realization of the FCC is the development of high-field superconducting dipole magnets: considering that Nb$_3$Sn is currently the best candidate material (with the related requirements of non-Cu J$_c$ = 1.5 kA/mm$^2$ at 16 T and 4.2 K), the microstructural analysis of prototype internal tin Nb$_3$Sn wires, manufactured by the Bochvar Institute with different designs and heat treatments, will be presented. The chemical composition and microstructure investigation is an important contribution to better understand which directions should be followed in the manufacturing process for producing wires with higher performance. In this study, the homogeneity of elemental concentrations all over the cross section will be discussed and compared for different wires, with a main focus on the Sn distribution. For this purpose, energy dispersive X-ray (EDX) spectroscopy was employed with both scanning electron microscopy (SEM) and transmission electron microscopy (TEM), performing EDX line scans along the radial and tangential directions in wire sub-elements. It will be shown how the elemental distributions are influenced by the wires different characteristics such as sub-element geometries, grain sizes and grain orientations.

This work is part of the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Action EASITrain, funded by the European Union’s H2020 Framework Programme under grant agreement no. 764879.

Primary author

Mrs Alice Moros (Technische Universität Wien)


Mattia Ortino (TU Wien (Vienna)) Dr Stefan Löffler (TU Wien - USTEM) Maxim Alekseev (Bochvar Institute of Inorganic Materials) Anastasia Tsapleva (Bochvar Institute of Inorganic Materials) Pavel Lukyanov (Bochvar Institute of Inorganic Materials) ILDAR ABDYUKHANOV (VNIINM (Bochvar Institute)) Victor Pantsyrny (Bochvqr Institute) Bernardo Bordini (CERN) Amalia Ballarino (CERN) Simon Hopkins (CERN) Michael Stöger-Pollach (TU Wien) Johannes Bernardi Dr Michael Eisterer (Vienna University of Technology (AT))

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.