29 June 2020 to 3 July 2020
Jeju Booyoung Hotel & Resort
Asia/Seoul timezone

Gary McCartor Fellowship and APCTP Fellowship

The International Light Cone Advisory Committee (ILCAC) offers Gary McCartor Fellowship Awards to support young researchers for attending LC 2020. We refer the nomination details to the attached letter from ILCAC below. 

In addition, we offer APCTP awards to waive registration fees of selected young researchers. For this purpose, please send the application email including cv to 


with the subject "Application for APCTP award". One recommendation email from your supervisor should be sent separately. The maximum number of APCTP awardees is expected to be five. The deadline for APCTP Awards application is 31st March, 2020.


<Letter from ILCAC>

Nomination Deadline for the "Gary McCartor 

Fellowship Award": January 31, 2020 (extended deadline)


The Gary McCartor Fund, honoring Gary's scientific and professional leadership, was established in 2008 owing to a generous donation by Gary's wife, Sheila McCartor, and donations by Gary's personal friends and colleagues. The fund continues to support young scientists due to regular support from these friends and colleagues as well as from the many institutions sponsoring Light Cone meetings.


Gary was particularly keen to see that young researchers had opportunities to participate in forefront research in our field. Accordingly, ILCAC plans to award a young researcher(s) who works in the field defined by the mission statement (http://www.ilcacinc.org/mission.htmlof ILCAC and detailed in the White Paper (http://www.ilcacinc.org/ILCAC-WP-FINAL.pdf), with a travel award of up to $2000 to attend Light Cone 2020 at Jeju Island in Korea. The conference fee will also be waived for the awardee. Due to the limited funds available, the ILCAC Board has decided to limit the number of awards up to a maximum of three per year, taking into consideration the actual travel and local costs of the awardees. 


It is our pleasure to invite you to nominate a young researcher for the "Gary McCartor Fellowship Award". An announcement of the recipient of the award will be made by ILCAC. Please send your email nominations (limited to 1200 words) to us before January 31, 2020.


Best Regards, 


Chueng Ji (Chair) [email: crji@ncsu.edu]
Wayne Polyzou (Vice Chair) [email: polyzou@uiowa.edu]