3-5 June 2020
Europe/Zurich timezone

First tests and characterization of the RD50-MPW2 active pixel matrix, bandgap voltage reference and SEU tolerant memory

5 Jun 2020, 13:20


Dr Ricardo Marco Hernandez (CERN)


This contribution will be focused on the lab performance evaluation of the electrical parameters before irradiation of three different blocks of the RD50-MPW2 device, the 8 by 8 matrix of depleted monolithic active pixel sensors, the bandgap voltage reference and the SEU (Single Event Upset) tolerant memory array. The RD50-MPW2 was developed in the framework of the RD50 collaboration and implemented in the 150 nm HV-CMOS process of LFoundry. The device was submitted for fabrication in January of 2019 and the first samples received in February of 2020. In first place, a reminder of the main characteristics of the aforementioned RD50-MPW2 circuits will be carried out. Secondly, the different tests performed in order to verify and characterize the pixel analog readout electronics, the configuration and bias registers as well as the analog multiplexer will be described. Measured results corresponding to input charge generated both with the pixel injection circuit and radioactive sources will be displayed. In third place, the measurements to assess the bandgap output voltage stability against the input voltage will be presented. Finally, preliminary lab measurements of the Single-Event tolerant memory array of the chip will be also showed.

Primary authors

Dr Ricardo Marco Hernandez (CERN) Mr Patrick Pangaud (Aix Marseille Univ, CNRS/IN2P3, CPPM, Marseille, France) Samuel Powell (University of Liverpool (GB)) Helmut Steininger (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT))


Oscar Alonso Casanovas (University of Barcelona) Marlon B. Barbero (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Thomas Bergauer (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Raimon Casanova Mohr (The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology (BIST) (ES)) Gianluigi Casse (University of Liverpool (GB)) Ana Catalan (IFIC (CSIC-UV)) Angel Dieguez (Universitat de Barcelona) Fabian Alexander Forster (IFAE Barcelona (ES)) Matthew Lewis Franks Laura Gonella (University of Birmingham (UK)) Sebastian Grinstein (IFAE - Barcelona (ES)) Jan Hammerich (University of Liverpool) William Helmqvist (U. Lancaster) Dr Jose Maria Hinojo Montero (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Bojan Hiti (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Christian Irmler (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Nissar Karim (U. Liverpool) Ioannis Kopsalis (University of Birmingham (GB)) Enrique Lopez Morillo (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Igor Mandic (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Carlos Marinas Pardo (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Nicola Massari (FBK) Jose Mazorra De Cos (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Daniel Muenstermann (Lancaster University (GB)) Fernando Munoz Chavero (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Francisco Rogelio Palomo Pinto (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Patrick Sieberer (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Dr Ivan Vila Alvarez (Instituto de Física de Cantabria (CSIC-UC)) Eva Vilella Figueras (University of Liverpool (GB)) Joost Vossebeld (University of Liverpool (GB)) Chenfan Zhang (University of Liverpool (GB))

Presentation materials