16-20 November 2020
CERN
Europe/Zurich timezone

Welcome to Island Hopping 2020, a workshop that will be held entirely virtually!

 

The focus will be on recent developments around the information paradox, quantum extremal surfaces and islands, generalized entropies, the Euclidean path integral in quantum gravity and the importance of spacetime wormholes, as well as the role of ensemble averages in holography. It will be held from November 16-20 2020.

Confirmed Speakers:

Ahmed Almheiri - Raphael Bousso - Alejandra Castro - Jan de Boer - Steve Giddings - Daniel Harlow - Tom Hartman - Daniel Jafferis - Kristan Jensen - Clifford Johnson - Hong Liu - Alex Maloney - Juan Maldacena - Henry Maxfield - Geoff Penington - Andrea Puhm - Suvrat Raju - Phil Saad - Edgar Shaghoulian - Julian Sonner - Douglas Stanford - James Sully - Mark Van Raamsdonk - Herman Verlinde - Ying Zhao - more to be announced

 

Schedule

Talks and panel discussions will be held in two sessions each day:

Central European: 16:00 - 18:00 and 20:00 - 22:00

Eastern:                 10:00 - 12:00 and 14:00 - 16:00

Pacific Coast:         07:00 - 09:00 and 11:00 - 13:00

 

There will be opportunities for informal discussions in between these sessions.

 

 

Organizers: A. Belin, N. Engelhardt, R. Myers

 

The registration deadline is Monday November 9th. Please click on the registration tab.

 

 

Starts
Ends
Europe/Zurich
CERN
Virtual conference only
Registration
Registration for this event is currently open.