Sep 20 – 24, 2021
America/Vancouver timezone

First Beams from the 1+ Source of the ADIGE Injector for the SPES Project

Sep 23, 2021, 7:40 AM
Parallel Session (Contributed Oral) talk Radioactive ion beams, charge breeders and polarized beams


Dr Alessio Galatà (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics)


The ADIGE (Acceleratore Di Ioni a Grande carica Esotici) injector consists of an electrostatic 1+ beam line, equipped with ion sources able to produce a wide variety of beams, coupled to a magnetic beam line, where charge multiplication is accomplished by implementing an Electron Cyclotron Resonance (ECR) based charge breeder. The injector is totally integrated in the SPES (Selective Production of Exotic Species) beam line, to allow the post-acceleration of radioactive ions and is now in an advanced phase of installation. The electrostatic 1+beam line has been put into operation and is now producing beams from alkali metals. This contribution concerns the first results of the beam commissioning of this part of the injector, with the description of the initial debug phase and the solutions adopted to ensure a reliable and continuous operation. Preliminary results of the 1+ beam line characterization will be shown, with a comparison between simulated and measured emittances.

E-mail for contact person

Primary authors

Alberto Monetti (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Dr Alessio Galatà (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Mr Andrea Conte (INFN-LNL) Andrea Pisent (INFN) Mr Carlo Roncolato (INFN-LNL) Damiano Bortolato (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Daniele Scarpa Mr Davide Marcato (INFN-LNL) Enrico Fagotti Mr Enrico Munaron (INFN-LNL) Mr Fabio Gelain (INFN-LNL) Mrs Francesca Moisio (INFN-LNL) Giovanni Bisoffi Mr Giovanni Savarese (INFN-LNL) Mrs Judilka Bermudez (INFN-LNL) Luca Bellan (INFN-LNL) Mr Marco Miglioranza (INFN-LNL) Mr Marco Roetta (INFN-LNL) Mr Massimo Rossignoli (INFN-LNL) Mattia Manzolaro Dr Mauro De Lazzari (INFN-LNL) Michele Ballan (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Michele Comunian (INFN Laboratori Nazionali di Legnaro) Mr Paolo Francescon (INFN-LNL) Mrs Valentina Martinelli (INFN-LNL)

Presentation materials