Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Present and future development of thin silicon sensors for extreme fluences

Feb 24, 2022, 4:00 PM
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Live Presentation Semiconductor Detectors Semiconductor Detectors


Valentina Sola (Universita e INFN Torino (IT))


In this contribution, we present a new development of radiation-resistant silicon sensors. This innovative sensor design exploits the recently observed saturation of radiation damage effects on silicon, together with the usage of thin substrates, intrinsically less affected by radiation. The internal multiplication of the charge carriers will be used to overcome the small signals coming from thin substrates.
At the end of 2020, the Fondazione Bruno Kessler (Italy) delivered Low-Gain Avalanche Diodes (LGADs) produced on 25 and 35 $\mu$m thick p-type epitaxial substrates, namely the EXFLU0 production: I-V and C-V characterisation of the sensors has been performed before and after irradiation up to 1E17 1MeV neutron equivalent/cm$^2$, together with signal analysis from an infrared laser and beta stimulus.
The outcome of the laboratory tests will be implemented in the EXFLU1 production, in which optimisation of the sensor peripheries and the gain layer responsible for internal multiplication will be pursued. The goal is to pave the way for a new design of silicon sensors that can efficiently operate above fluences of 1E17 1MeV neutron equivalent/cm$^2$.

Primary authors

Valentina Sola (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Roberta Arcidiacono (Università del Piemonte Orientale) Patrick Asenov (Universita e INFN, Perugia (IT)) Giacomo Borghi (Fondazione Bruno Kessler (FBK)) Maurizio Boscardin (Fondazione Bruno Kessler (FBK)) Nicolo Cartiglia (INFN, Sezione di Torino) Matteo Centis Vignali (Fondazione Bruno Kessler (FBK)) Tommaso Croci (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Marco Ferrero (Università del Piemonte Orientale) Giulia Gioachin (University of Turin) Simona Giordanengo (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare) Marco Mandurrino (INFN) Arianna Morozzi (INFN, Perugia (IT)) Francesco Moscatelli (IOM-CNR and INFN, Perugia (IT)) Daniele Passeri (University & INFN, Perugia (IT)) Giovanni Paternoster (Fondazione Bruno Kessler (FBK)) Federico Siviero (Università di Torino) Marta Tornago (Università di Torino)

Presentation materials