Likelihoods for the LHC Searches

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room (CERN)

4/3-006 - TH Conference Room


Show room on map
Harrison Prosper (Particle Physics), Kyle Stuart Cranmer (New York University (US)), Sezen Sekmen (CERN)
The primary goal of this 3‐day workshop is to educate the LHC community about the scientific utility of likelihoods. We shall do so by describing and discussing several real‐world examples of the use of likelihoods, including a one‐day in‐depth examination of likelihoods in the Higgs boson studies by ATLAS and CMS.
The workshop will start with two pedagogical lectures that introduce likelihood concepts and terminology. These lectures are followed, in the afternoon of Day 1, by a moderated discussion that focuses on the concepts and issues raised in the lectures. Day 1 ends with several presentations that illustrate the use of likelihoods in Higgs and Beyond the Standard Model (BSM) research. The goal here is to get feedback from researchers who have used Higgs and BSM results in their work.
Given the importance of the work on the Higgs boson, we shall devote the second day of the workshop to the thorough deconstruction of likelihood usage in the Higgs boson work by ATLAS and CMS. The goal is to shed a bright light on the many details, and assumptions, that underlie the likelihoods used in the recently published results.
The final day of the workshop covers the use of likelihoods in BSM work and ends with an examination and discussion of the concrete steps needed to make the publication of likelihoods by the LHC community systematic and routine.
  • Abdollah Mohammadi
  • Alexander Tuna
  • Ali Fahim
  • Andre Lessa
  • Andres Tanasijczuk
  • Annapaola de Cosa
  • Arne Draeger
  • Benjamin Kreis
  • Bennie Ward
  • Beranger Dumont
  • Caterina Doglioni
  • Dinyar Rabady
  • Eduardo Rodrigues
  • Francisca Garay
  • Gabriel Facini
  • Gaetano Barone
  • Genevieve Belanger
  • Giacomo Snidero
  • Glen Cowan
  • Halil Saka
  • Haoshuang Ji
  • harinder bawa
  • Hiroshi de Sandes
  • Hongtao Yang
  • Huaqiao ZHANG
  • Hyun Min Lee
  • Ioan Gabriel Bucur
  • Jamie Tattersall
  • Jamison Galloway
  • Javier Mauricio Duarte
  • Jean-Baptiste Flament
  • Jeanette Lorenz
  • Jeremy Neveu
  • Jiawei Fan
  • john gunion
  • Kurtis Johnson
  • Lianliang Ma
  • Lorenzo Moneta
  • Louis Sgandurra
  • Louise Skinnari
  • Lucie Gauthier
  • Luebbo von Lindern
  • Manuel Proissl
  • Marc Cano Bret
  • marco zanetti
  • Margarete Muhlleitner
  • Marta Felcini
  • Maurizio Pierini
  • Mertens Alexandre
  • Michele Selvaggi
  • Myeonghun Park
  • Nadja Strobbe
  • Nicola Orlando
  • Nishita Desai
  • Pedro Silva
  • Pietro Vischia
  • Rishiraj Pravahan
  • Sabine Kraml
  • sareh mamoudinan
  • Sebastian Olivares
  • Seema Sharma
  • Sezen Sekmen
  • Shahram Rahatlou
  • Shehu AbdusSalam
  • Silvia Tentindo
  • Simone Amoroso
  • Suchita Kulkarni
  • Sven Kreiss
  • Vasiliki Mitsou
  • Will Reece
  • Wolfgang Waltenberger
  • Xiaohang Quan