From Higgs to Dark Matter 2014, Geilo

Dr. Holms Hotel, Geilo, Norway

Dr. Holms Hotel, Geilo, Norway

Anna Lipniacka (University of Bergen (NO))

Second Topical Meeting on Consequences of the Higgs Discovery for Dark Matter Searches

Dr. Holms Hotel, Geilo, Norway


This topical meeting follows the spirit of Nordic Particle Physics Meetings. It takes place in a traditional Norwegian mountain resort, this time in the famous Dr. Holms Hotel, Geilo, Norway. The scientific programme starts on Monday the 15th of December and ends on Wednesday the 17th of December. The travel days are the 14th and the 17th of December. The programme is composed of overview presentations and contributed talks on current topics in particle and astroparticle physics, with an emphasis on the consequences of the Higgs discovery for Dark Matter searches. The registration and abstract submission deadline is the 20th of November.


Speakers include

  • Philip Bechtle, University of Bonn
  • Laura Covi, University of Göttingen
  • Oleg Lebedev, University of Helsinki
  • Alexandre Arbey, CERN and Université de Lyon
  • Ketevi Assamagan,  BNL
  • Pierre Salati, Université de Savoie, Annecy
  • Joe Silk, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris
  • Oscar Stål, Stockholm University
  • Robert Wagner, Stockholm University

Travel information

To get to Geilo, take the train from Oslo or Bergen to Geilo train station. For international travelers it is recommended to fly  to Oslo Gardermoen or Bergen Flesland arriving on Sunday the 14th of December and then take a train to Geilo. The train trip takes ca. 3.5 hours and is following the scenic Oslo-Bergen train route. There are non-expensive flights to Oslo by from many places in the world. There is a convenient KLM connection from Geneva via Amsterdam to either Oslo or Bergen:

Flying to Bergen: On Sunday, e.g. KLM from Amsterdam arrives at Bergen airport at 13.20, and the train leaves from Bergen city centre at 15.59. On Wednesday, the train leaves from Geilo at 11.57 and arrives at Bergen city centre at 14.59. KLM to Amsterdam leaves from Bergen Airport at 17.20.

Flying to Oslo: On Sunday, e.g KLM from Amsterdam arrives at Oslo airport at 12.10, and the train to Geilo leaves from Oslo Central Station at 15.25. On Wednesday, the train leaves from Geilo at 10.56 and arrives at Oslo Central Station at 14.45. The KLM flight to Amsterdam leaves at 17.15.

There are of course many other possibilities to fly to Oslo or Bergen as well, flying with SAS or, or with KLM directly from e.g. Paris CDG to Oslo.

The connection between Bergen Airport Flesland and the train station can be realized by the airport bus (around 25min, every 15min), which stops 50m from the train station, or with a taxi (around 20min).
From Oslo Airport Gardermoen there is a normal train as well as an Airport train leaving to Oslo Central Station, from where the train to Geilo leaves. Train tickets to Geilo can be booked here.

Follow the scenic train route from Bergen to Oslo on YouTube. Geilo is close to half way.


Conference fee

A conference fee of 4900 NOK (around 720 CHF) covers hotel with full board. It can be paid directly via this webpage, or in the hotel. Click on e-payment.


Accommodation was pre-booked in single rooms, full board for 25 participants, and it will be organized for you once you register.

Local organizing committee

  • Anna Lipniacka (University of Bergen)
  • Per Osland (University of Bergen)
  • Jörn Kersten (University of Bergen)
  • Heidi Sandaker (University of Bergen)
  • Torsten Bringmann (University of Oslo)
  • Therese Sjursen (University of Bergen)

Recent Nordic conferences in particle physics

Spaatind 2014 (org Lund); Spaatind 2012 (org NBI); From Higggs2DM 2012; Spaatind 2010 (org Bergen); Spaatind 2008 (org Helsinki); Spaatind 2006 (org Sweden); Spaatind 2002 (org Oslo)



Excellent cross country skiing.
Good downhill slopes.
Beautiful spa facilities and swimming pool in the hotel.


photo nr 1
  • Alexander Lincoln Read
  • Alexandre Arbey
  • Anders Kvellestad
  • Andrea Coccaro
  • Anna Lipniacka
  • Bertrand Martin Dit Latour
  • Bohdan Grzadkowski
  • Catarina Espirito Santo
  • Christophe Clément
  • David Salek
  • Harri Waltari
  • Heidi Sandaker
  • Jan Oye Lindroos
  • Joern Kersten
  • joseph silk
  • Jussi Virkajärvi
  • Jørgen Eriksson Midtbø
  • Ketevi Adikle Assamagan
  • Lars Andreas Dal
  • Laura Covi
  • Lillian Smestad
  • Margarida Nesbitt Rebelo
  • Matteo Bauce
  • Muhammad Sohail
  • Oleg Lebedev
  • Oscar Stål
  • Per Osland
  • Philip Bechtle
  • Robert Wagner
  • Roger Barlow
  • Roko Plestina
  • Sachin Baruwal
  • Saeid Paktinat Mehdiabadi
  • Seyed Yaser Ayazi
  • Steffen Maeland
  • Therese Berge Sjursen
  • Tommi Tenkanen
  • Torsten Bringmann
  • William Kalderon
  • Zongchang Yang