NECSA-Wits workshop on Radiation, Material Sciences and High Energy Physics

from Thursday, September 10, 2015 (9:30 AM) to Friday, September 11, 2015 (6:00 PM)
NECSA (Visitors Centre)

        : Sessions
    /     : Talks
        : Breaks
Sep 10, 2015
Sep 11, 2015
9:30 AM
Introduction and Overview (until 10:45 AM) (Visitors Centre)
9:30 AM Welcome and overview of R&D activities at NECSA - Dr Motodi Maserumule (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
9:50 AM Overview of activities at Wits: MPRI & HEP - Prof. Elias Sideras-Haddad (University of the Witwatersrand) Prof. Bruce Mellado (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
10:10 AM Overview of activities in Nuclear Education - Mr James Larkin (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
10:45 AM --- Tea/coffee break ---
11:15 AM
Presentations I (until 1:00 PM) (Visitors Centre)
11:15 AM An overview of Radiation and Reactor Theory Section - Dr Djordje Tomasevic (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
11:30 AM An overview of the OSCAR-4 code system as industry support and research platform - Dr Rian Prinsloo (NECSA) Dr Pavel Bokov (NECSA) Dr Francois van Heerden (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
12:00 PM An overview of the focus and activities of the Necsa Reactor Analysis - Mr Khalid Elsakhawy (NECSA) Ms Carmen Jacobs (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
12:30 PM The Radiation and Reactor Theory SQEP Training Programme - Mr Johann van Rooyen (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
12:45 PM Nuclear Waste Research at Necsa - Mr Willie Meyer (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
9:30 AM
Presentations IV (until 11:00 AM) (Visitors Centre)
9:30 AM Non-destructive characterisation of materials and components with neutron diffraction methods - Dr Andrew Venter (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
9:45 AM X-ray and neutron radiography and tomography at NECSA - Dr Gabriel Nothnagel (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
10:00 AM Small-angle Scattering Study of Wool and Mohair Fibres - Mr Tjatji Tjebane (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
10:15 AM Near-surface diffraction capabilities at NECSA - Mr Tshepo Ntsoane (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
10:30 AM Charged particle irradiation effects on Zircaloy-4 - Mr Tshepo Mahafa (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
10:45 AM Applications of Mössbauer spectroscopy - Deena Naidoo (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
11:00 AM --- Tea/coffee break ---
11:30 AM
Presentations V (until 1:00 PM) (Visitors Centre)
11:30 AM Surface Brillouin scattering of thin supported films: case studies Transition metal nitrides and oxides - Dr Daniel Wamwangi (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
11:45 AM Optoelectronic characterization of organic solar cells to enhance efficiency - Mr Francis Otieno (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
12:00 PM Fabrication and characterisation of high efficiency carbon nanotube based organic solar cells - Mr Lesias Kotane (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
12:15 PM Co-Implantation of N-O complex in Diamond - Mr Tresor Matindi (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
12:30 PM Measurement of the near-surface elastic properties of solids and thin supported films using Surface Brillouin spectroscopy - Dr Bhekumusa Mathe (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
12:45 PM Diamond/Carbon Physics with Accelerated Charged Ions - Prof. Elias Sideras-Haddas (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
1:00 PM --- Lunch ---
2:00 PM
Presentations II (until 3:30 PM) (Visitors Centre)
2:00 PM The use of EPICS as a control and instrumentation tool for the RFQ accelerator facility at NECSA - Mr Mpho Matabane (NECSA)   (Visitors Centre)
2:15 PM Upgrade of the readout electronics of the Tile Calorimeter of the ATLAS detector - Matthew Spoor (University of the Witwatersrand (ZA))   (Visitors Centre)
2:30 PM The ATCA system for advanced electronics - Robert Graham Reed (University of the Witwatersrand (ZA))   (Visitors Centre)
2:45 PM Radiation damage of plastic scintillators for the Tile Calorimeter of the ATLAS detector - Harshna Jivan (University of the Witwatersrand (ZA))   (Visitors Centre)
3:15 PM Transmission of damaged plastic scintillators for the Tile Calorimeter of the ATLAS detector - Humphry Tlou   (Visitors Centre)
3:30 PM --- Tea/coffee break ---
4:00 PM
Presentations III (until 5:30 PM) (Visitors Centre)
4:00 PM MPRI Centralised Research Laboratories - Mr Gerrard Peter (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
4:15 PM Observation of impedance oscillations in single walled carbon nanotube bundles excited by high frequency signals - Ms Siphepile Ncube (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
4:30 PM Synthesis, device fabrication and Quantum transport features of Graphene - Mr Christopher Coleman (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
4:45 PM The superconductor-insulator transition in boron doped nanodiamond - Mr Ross McIntosh (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
5:00 PM Electrical Transport properties of Nitrogen Doped Carbon Microspheres - Mr Vincent Marsicano (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
5:15 PM Nuclear Structure, Safety and Applications - Dr Iyabo Usman (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
1:00 PM --- Lunch ---
2:00 PM
Breakaway session: Electronics and Computing (until 3:30 PM) (Visitors Centre)
2:00 PM
Breakaway session: Material Sciences (until 3:30 PM) (Visitors Centre)
2:00 PM
Breakaway session: Radiation and Education (until 3:30 PM) (Visitors Centre)
3:30 PM --- Tea/coffee break ---
4:00 PM
Concluding session (until 5:30 PM) (Visitors Centre)
4:00 PM Report from Radiation and Education - Mr Johann Van Rooyen (NECSA) Mr James Larkin (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
4:20 PM Report from Material Sciences - Dr Gabriel Nothnagel (NECSA) Prof. Deena Naidoo (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
4:40 PM Report from Electronics - Dr Motodi Maserumule (NECSA) Prof. Bruce Mellado (University of the Witwatersrand)   (Visitors Centre)
5:00 PM Concluding remarks   (Visitors Centre)