August 27, 2017 to September 1, 2017
RAI Congress Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

High-temperature superconducting CORC® magnet cable and wire development and their application

Aug 30, 2017, 11:00 AM
Emerald Room

Emerald Room

Regular 15 minutes Oral Presentation F4 - ReBCO Wires and Cables Wed-Mo-Or21


Danko van der Laan (Advanced Conductor Technologies)


Advanced Conductor Technologies has been developing Conductor on Round Core (CORC®) cables and wires wound from REBCO coated conductors for use in high-field magnets. An overview of the current status future developments of the CORC® cables and wires is presented. CORC® cables with thickness of 5 to 8 mm have been developed for use in larger magnets that require only very limited bending of the cable. CORC® cables have been bundled into 6-around-1 cable in conduit conductors (CICC) for fusion and detector magnets. The latest results of a 80 kA CORC®- CICC tested at 11 T in SULTAN will be highlighted. Much more flexible CORC® magnet wires are being developed for accelerator magnets that require a current density Je at 20 T of at least 300 A/mm2. We will outline the development and test results of a 3.7 mm thick, robust CORC® wire wound from tapes with 30 μm substrates, that is bendable to diameters of less than 50 mm. The CORC® wire is capable of reaching a Je at 4.2 K and 20 T of over 300 A/mm2, and likely over 600 A/mm2 when wound from tapes with even thinner substrates that are expected later in the year. Finally, two high-field insert magnets are being developed using high-Je CORC® wires. The first is a high-field insert solenoid that is expected to generate at least 3 T in a background field of 14 T, while the second magnet is an accelerator-grade canted cosine theta insert magnet that would generate 5 T in a background field of 10 T. The development of these first two CORC®-based high-field magnets will be discussed.
Acknowledgement: This work was in part supported by the US Department of Energy under agreement numbers DE-SC0007891, DE-SC0007660, DE-SC0009545, DE-SC0014009 and DE-SC0015775.

Submitters Country USA

Primary authors

Danko van der Laan (Advanced Conductor Technologies) Jeremy Weiss (Advanced Conductor Technologies) Dr Ulf P. Trociewitz (NHMFL-FSU) Dmytro Abraimov (NHMFL) David Larbalestier (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory) Xiaorong Wang (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Hugh Higley (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Soren Prestemon (LBNL) Tim Mulder (University of Twente (NL)) Herman Ten Kate (CERN)

Presentation materials