August 27, 2017 to September 1, 2017
RAI Congress Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Test of the first MQXFA prototype by LARP and status of the US High Luminosity LHC Accelerator Upgrade Project preparation

Aug 30, 2017, 4:00 PM


Regular 15 minutes Oral Presentation A1 - Superconducting Accelerator Magnets Wed-Af-Or23


Giorgio Ambrosio (Fermilab)


The US LARP (LHC Accelerator Research Program), in collaboration with CERN, has started developing prototypes of the low-beta Quadrupoles (MQXF) for the High Luminosity Upgrade of the LHC at CERN. These large aperture (150 mm) high gradient (133 T/m) quadrupoles will use Nb3Sn conductor to replace the present 70-mm aperture NbTi quadrupoles.
The first LARP prototype (MQXFA1) has coils with 4 m magnetic length produced at BNL and FNAL. The Al-shell based structure was assembled at LBNL. Test at 1.9 K is in progress at BNL. This test is an important milestone toward the full approval of the High Luminosity LHC Accelerator Upgrade Project (HL-LHC-AUP), which will fabricate and test the upgraded Q1 and Q3 elements of the LHC Inner Triplets, using CERN supplied cryostats.
In this paper we present the status of MQXFA1 test, the status of the HL-LHC-AUP project preparation, and the plan for next steps.

Submitters Country USA

Primary authors

Amalia Ballarino (CERN) Bernardo Bordini (CERN) Daniel Cheng Eddie Frank Holik Emmanuele Ravaioli (LBNL) Eugenio Cavanna Ezio Todesco (CERN) Fred Nobrega (Fermilab) GianLuca Sabbi (LBNL) Giorgio Ambrosio (Fermilab) Giorgio Apollinari (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Giorgio Vallone (CERN) Guram Chlachidze (Fermilab) Heng Pan (LBNL) Herve Prin (CERN) Hugo Bajas (CERN) Jesse Schmalzle (Brookhaven National Laboratory) Joseph F Muratore (Brookhaven National Laboratory) Juan Carlos Perez (CERN) Lance Cooley (Fermilab) Marta Bajko (CERN) Maxim Marchevsky Miao Yu (Fermilab) Michael Anerella (Brookhaven National Laboratory) Paolo Ferracin (CERN) Peter Wanderer Piyush Joshi (Brookhaven National Laboratory) Rodger Clayton Bossert (CERN) Ruben Horacio Carcagno Soren Prestemon (LBNL) Steve Krave (Fermilab) Stoyan Stoynev (FNAL (US)) Susana Izquierdo Bermudez (CERN) Tiina-Mari Salmi (Tampere University of Technology, Finland) Vittorio Marinozzi (University of Milan / INFN) Xiaorong Wang (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Presentation materials