August 27, 2017 to September 1, 2017
RAI Congress Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Experimental Analysis of Charging Characteristics of an HTS Field Coil with Contactless HTS Excitation Device Considering Various HTS Loads

Aug 29, 2017, 1:15 PM
1h 45m
Posters Area

Posters Area

Poster Presentation of 1h45m H2 - Power Supplies and Flux Pumps Tue-Af-Po2.11


Mr Jeyull Lee (Yonsei University)


High-temperature superconducting (HTS) synchronous motors conventionally require current leads to inject the large DC currents into HTS field coils. However heat losses are generated on these current leads due to mechanical connection between the HTS field coils and power supply. For that reason, rotary HTS flux pump is used to remove the physical connection. However, HTS flux pump has spatial limitation due to the size of the HTS synchronous motor. Therefore, in this paper, the charging characteristics of HTS field coils are experimentally analyzed to verify the efficient method for charging the HTS coils when a contactless HTS excitation device (CHED) is used. The CHED is composed of eight HTS strands which are connected in series and eight neodymium permanent magnets (N50). The magnetic field of N50 is about 0.3 T. Air gap between the HTS strand and N50 is 8 mm. In order to verify the proper charging method, two cases of experiments are performed. First, the HTS loads are connected in series and they are charged by eight HTS series-connected strands of the CHED. Second, the HTS loads are connected in parallel and each coil is charged by four HTS series-connected strands of the CHED. In those experiments, the current flowing through the HTS load is measured with rotor speed range, from 100 to 300 rpm.

Submitters Country Repblic of Korea

Primary author

Mr Jeyull Lee (Yonsei University)


Mr Haeryong Jeon (Yonsei University) Mr Seunghak Han (Yonsei University) Mr Ji Hyung Kim (Jeju National University) Mr Chang Ju Hyeon (Jeju National University) Prof. Ho Min Kim (Jeju National University) Prof. Tae Kuk Ko (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Yonsei University) Prof. Yong Soo Yoon (SHIN ANSAN UNIVERSITY)

Presentation materials