August 27, 2017 to September 1, 2017
RAI Congress Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Controllability of the contact resistance of 2G HTS coil with metal insulation

Aug 28, 2017, 1:15 PM
1h 45m
Posters Area

Posters Area

Poster Presentation of 1h45m C3 - HTS Insert and Model Magnets Mon-Af-Po1.03


Dr Myung-Hwan Sohn (Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute)


Today, researches on the all 2G HTS magnets are actively underway in the field of high magnetic fields. No-insulation coils without insulation between turn-to-turns are very stable against quenching. The characteristic resistance of the no-insulation coil depends on the turn-to-turn contact resistance, which is an important factor determining the current ramping rate. In no-insulation coils, the turn-turn contact resistance is very small and the current ramping rate is very slow. The resistance between these turn-to-turns simply depends on the contact area of one turn and the resistivity and surface conditions of the metal where contact occurs. The metal insulation coil co-wound with stainless steel tape has a higher current ramping rate than the no-insulation coil. The metal insulation coil has two contact interfaces compared to the no-insulation coil, and the resistance of the stainless steel tape is larger than that of the surface material cooper of the 2G HTS wire. So if you can control the turn-to-turn resistance in the desired HTS magnet, it will be very useful for designing HTS magnets. In this study, we conducted a study to change the contact resistance of metal-insulation coils by coating some metal material on the surface of the co-winding metal tape. The result will discuss the controllability of the contact resistance between the turn-turns of the 2G HTS coils.

Submitters Country South Korea

Primary author

Dr Myung-Hwan Sohn (Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute)


Dr Kideok Sim (Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute) Mr Beomyong Eom (Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute ) Dr Hong-Soo Ha (Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute ) Mr Ho-Yong Kim (Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute) Dr Kichul Seong (Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute)

Presentation materials