The events are the fourth and fifth in a series of meetings gathering scientists working on astroparticle physics, cosmology, gravitation, nuclear physics, and related fields. As in previous years, the meeting sessions will consist of invited and contributed talks and will cover recent developments in the following topics:   

STARS2017 – New phenomena and new states of matter in the Universe, general relativity, gravitation, cosmology, heavy ion collisions and the formation of the quark-gluon plasma, white dwarfs, neutron stars and pulsars, black holes, gamma-ray emission in the Universe, high energy cosmic rays, gravitational waves, dark energy and dark matter, strange matter and strange stars, antimatter in the Universe, and topics related to these.

SMFNS2017 – Strong magnetic fields in the Universe, strong magnetic fields in compact stars and in galaxies, ultra-strong magnetic fields in neutron star mergers, quark stars and magnetars, strong magnetic fields and the cosmic microwave background, and topics related to these.

As part of the events, the school Modeling Matter under Extreme Conditions will be held in ICIMAF, Havana, from May 3 to May 5, for students and young researchers. Registration and participation in the school are free of charge.

STARS2017 and SMFNS2017 events are also intended to commemorate the 80th birthday of Professor Hugo Pérez Rojas, the dean of our events in Cuba.

Professor Walter Greiner Award, as a tribute to the German scientist who recently left us and whose support was decisive for the effective materialization of the IWARA events in Brazil and STARS-SMFNS events in Cuba, will be awarded to the best three posters presented by students at the conferences.

Organizing Committee:

  • Aurora Pérez Martínez – Instituto de Cibernética, Matemática y Física (ICIMAF), Cuba - Co-Chair
  • Alejandro Cabo Montes de Oca – Instituto de Cibernética, Matemática y Física (ICIMAF), Cuba
  • Bruna Cesira Folador – Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Brazil
  • Carola Dobrigkeit – Universidade de Campinas (UNICAMP), Brazil
  • César A. Zen Vasconcellos – Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Brazil - Chair
  • Christian Motch – Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), France
  • Daryel Manreza Paret – Universidad de La Habana (UH), Cuba
  • Diana Alvear Terrero  – Instituto de Cibernética, Matemática y Física (ICIMAF), Cuba
  • Elizabeth Rodríguez Querts  – Instituto de Cibernética, Matemática y Física (ICIMAF), Cuba
  • Gabriela González – Louisiana State University & LIGO Collaboration, USA
  • Gabriella Piccinelli – Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico
  • German Lugones – Universidade Federal do ABC (UFABC), Brazil
  • Helio T. Coelho – Universidade Federal de Pernambuco (UFPE), Brazil
  • Horst Stoecker – GSI, FIAS & JWGU, Germany
  • Hugo Pérez Rojas – Instituto de Cibernética, Matemática y Física (ICIMAF), Cuba
  • Jorge Horvath – Instituto de Astronomia, Geofísica e Ciências Atmosféricas, Universidade de São Paulo (IAG-USP), Brazil
  • Lorenzo Diaz Cruz – Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP), Mexico
  • Ricardo González Felipe – Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Lisboa (ISEL) and Centro de Física Teórica de Partículas (CFTP)/Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Lisboa, Portugal - Co-Chair
  • Rosana de Oliveira Gomes – Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Brazil
  • Thomas Boller – Max-Planck Institute, Germany

International Advisory Committee:

  • Alejandro Ayala – UNAM, Mexico
  • Constança Providência – UC, Portugal
  • Cristina Biino – INFN & CERN, Italy
  • Dany Page – UNAM, México
  • David Blaschke – UWr, Poland
  • Débora Peres Menezes – UFSC, Brazil
  • Dimiter Hadjimichef – UFRGS, Brazil
  • Eduardo Guendelman – BGU, Israel
  • Elena Bratkovskaya – FIAS/JWGU, Germany
  • Ernesto Kemp – UNICAMP, Brazil
  • Félix Mirabel – IAFE/CONICET, Argentina
  • Fernando Quevedo – ICTP, Italy
  • Fridolin Weber – SDSU, USA
  • Géraldine Conti – CERN, Switzerland
  • Ignatios Antoniadis – CERN, Switzerland
  • Joerg Aichelin – SUBATECH, France
  • José A. de Freitas Pacheco – OCA, France
  • Katharina Müller – PIUZ & CERN, Switzerland
  • Magno V. Trindade Machado – UFRGS, Brazil
  • Manuel M.B. Malheiro de Oliveira – ITA, Brazil
  • Marcela Carena – Fermilab, USA
  • Marcus Bleicher – HIC for FAIR, Germany
  • Massimo Della Valle – AOC, Italy
  • Norberto Scoccola – Tandar/CNEA, Argentina
  • Norman K. Glendenning - LBNL, USA
  • Paolo Giommi – ASDC/ASI, Italy
  • Pascal Chardonnet – US, France
  • Peter O. Hess – UNAM, Mexico
  • Rafael Nepomechie – UM, USA
  • Remo Ruffini – ICRANet, Italy
  • Renxin Xu – PKU, China
  • Roberto A. Sussman – UNAM, Mexico
  • Sergei B. Popov – SAI/MSU, Russia
  • S.O. Kepler – UFRGS, Brazil
  • Stefan Schramm – FIAS/JWGU, Germany
  • Thaisa Storchi Bergmann – UFRGS, Brazil
  • Tsvi Piran – HU, Israel
  • Ulisses Barres de Almeida – CBPF, Brazil
  • Walter Greiner – JWGU & FIAS, Germany

Local Organizers:

  • Aurora Pérez Martínez – ICIMAF, Cuba
  • Alejandro Cabo Montes de Oca – ICIMAF, Cuba
  • Daryel Manreza Paret – UH, Cuba
  • Diana Alvear Terrero – ICIMAF, Cuba
  • Elizabeth Rodríguez Querts – ICIMAF, Cuba
  • Hugo Pérez Rojas – ICIMAF, Cuba

Secretariat support: Monica Rojas Vidaurreta, Yamila Chong Riera
Contact email address for both events: