Jun 11 – 15, 2018
Villa Monastero
Europe/Zurich timezone

Ettore Gadioli Wine Party

The second Ettore Gadioli Wine Party, representing the seventh consecutive edition of the Varenna's Wine Party series, listed the impressive amount of 40 competitors.

The Supreme Judging Commission (SJC), who scrutinized them, combined legendary magistrates with new enriching enrollments, maintaining an awesome level of competence and tannic impartiality through the membership of Werner Richter (President), Alex Brown, Andrea Fontana, and Lembit Sihver.

The 2018 Best Wine Competition (BWC) awarded as follows


Red wines (30)

Shared First Place: Hess Cabernet Sauvignon 2011, Napa Valley (Michael Pravikoff) and Amarone 2014, Valpolicella (Luciano Canton)

Second Place: Notte Rossa 2017, Salento (Giuseppe Tagliente)

Third Place: Nederburg Two Centuries Cabernet Sauvignon 2014, South Africa (Werner Richter)


White wines (10)

Shared First Place: Haussmann 2012, Bordeaux (Marc Dupuis) and Kapyoc Chardonnay Sauvignon Blanc 2017, Greece (Anastasia Georgiadou)

Shared Second Place: Lindenhof Riesling 2014, Germany (Hans Weidenmueller) and Grasa de Cotnari, Romania (Marilena Avrigeanu)