Ideas and technologies for a next generation medical research and therapy facility with ions

ESI, Archamps

ESI, Archamps

Yiota Foka (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)), Maurizio Vretenar (CERN)
The workshop series “Ions for cancer therapy, space research and material science” aims at highlighting the increasingly important interface between physics and its applications. Over recent decades, many important developments have been built on either basic physics principles or the tools developed to conduct physics research. Notable examples are diagnostic and therapeutic techniques such as particle therapy or innovations in space and material sciences.

It is co-organised by CERN, one of the world's leading particle physics laboratory, and GSI, where ion therapy was pioneered since the early ‘90s, and it is hosted by the European Scientific Institute in its premises of Archamps, near Geneva, and focuses on innovative accelerator designs to exploit the potential of ion therapy for cancer treatment.

The Workshop will bring together experts from operating ion facilities, scientific laboratories with interest in medical accelerator programmes, and the medical world, to jointly define the features of future ion accelerators.

In particular, it will provide the opportunity for scientists of related disciplines to exchange ideas, share current experiences and explore future possibilities towards the design for a next generation medical research and therapy facility with ions in Europe.

The Workshop will take place from 19th to 21st June 2018 and will be hosted at the European Scientific Institute (ESI) located in Archamps, France, in the vicinity of Geneva.



  • Adriano Garonna
  • Alberto Degiovanni
  • Alessandra Lombardi
  • Alexej Grudiev
  • Alfred Zens
  • Andrej Studen
  • Arend Glenzer
  • Barbora Bruant Gulejova
  • Bob Holland
  • Carsten P Welsch
  • Christian Carli
  • Christian Graeff
  • Christian Schömers
  • Davide Tommasini
  • Elena Benedetto
  • Enrico Felcini
  • Frédérick Bordry
  • Gianluigi Arduini
  • Grigori Shirkov
  • Hans F. Hoffmann
  • Hans Joachim Specht
  • Herwig Schopper
  • Hongwei ZHAO
  • Jacques Balosso
  • Jeff Buchsbaum
  • Jevgenijs Proskurins
  • Johanna Pitters
  • Jonas Toth
  • Jose M. Perez
  • Kenneth Long
  • Koji Noda
  • Konrad Pawel Nesteruk
  • Louis Rinolfi
  • Luca Bottura
  • Manjit Dosanjh
  • Manuela Cirilli
  • Marco Buzio
  • Marco Durante
  • Marco Pullia
  • Marco Silari
  • Marie Gauthier
  • Mark Plesko
  • Maurizio Vretenar
  • Mauro Paoluzzi
  • Norman Coleman
  • Oliver Jäkel
  • Peter Urschuetz
  • Piergiorgio Cerello
  • Roberto Orecchia
  • Sandro Rossi
  • Sanja Damjanovic
  • Siegfried Glenzer
  • Simon Jolly
  • Stefan Sorge
  • Thomas Haberer
  • Toms Torims
  • Udo Weinrich
  • Ugo Amaldi
  • Valerie Brunner
  • Xavier Pin
  • Yiota Foka
  • Yoshiyuki Iwata
  • Zhentang ZHAO