Vienna Central European Seminar 2018


Thank you everyone for your contribution!


More pictures of the meeting are available here.



The 14th Central European Seminar on Particle Physics and Quantum Field Theory (VCES) on "Global and Local Symmetries" on Nov 30 and Dec 01 2018 will take place at the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Nov 30) and at the TU Wien (Dec 01).

VCES will share the day of Nov 30 with the Discrete 2018 conference, an independent international meeting on discrete symmetries in particle physics. On Dec 01, VCES will cover topically complementary aspects. 

VCES is jointly organized by the Theoretical Physics Departments of the University of Vienna and TU Wien, as well as by the Institute of High Energy Physics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and supported by the Faculty of Physics of the University of Vienna, the FWF doctoral school Particles and Interactions and the EU COST Network Connecting insights in fundamental physics.

The seminar series was created 2004 and is intended to provide stimulating interactions between leading researchers and promising junior physicists. A considerable number of junior scientists participate in these meetings, and, upon application, can receive special grants (see below). We particularly invite junior participants, including advanced graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty to attend the meeting. The conference fee is 50 EUR and is to be paid in cash at the registration desk.

Friday, Nov 30 2018:  Festsaal, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Dr. Ignaz Seipel-Platz 2, 1010 Vienna. Google Maps Link.

Saturday, Dec 01 2018: TUtheSKY, TU Wien Getreidemarkt 9, 1060 Vienna. Google Maps Link.

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Francesco Bigazzi (INFN, Florence)
Astrid Eichhorn (Heidelberg)
Cohl Furey (Cambridge)
Daniel Grumiller (TU Wien)
Karl Landsteiner (Madrid)
Axel Maas (Graz)
Guy Moore (Darmstadt)
Malcolm Perry (Cambridge)
Margarida Rebelo (Lisbon)
Ennio Salvioni (TU Munich)
Francesco Sannino (Odense)
Andreas Schaefer (Regensburg)
Dominik Schwarz (Bielefeld) 
Alfredo Urbano (SISSA)
Timm Wrase (TU Wien)

Public Lecture on Friday, 18:00 at the Austrian Academy (same venue)

Malcolm Perry (Cambridge)
Black Holes, Fundamental Physics and the Information Paradox

Junior Scientists

We invite applications from graduate students and post-doctoral fellows to submit applications for poster presentations. Successful applicants can receive financial support through ITC Conference Grants by the COST Network Connecting insights in fundamental physics and we particularly encourage applications from the networks’ member Inclusiveness Target Countries Bosnia-Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Estonia, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, and Slovenia.

Local Organizing Committee

Anton Rebhan (chair, TU Wien)
Josef Pradler (Institute of High Energy Physics)
Eberhard Widmann (Stefan Meyer Institute)
Brigitte de Monte (secretary, Institute of High Energy Physics)
Andrea Smith-Stachowski (secretary, DKPI)


Supported by:

Doktoratskolleg Particles and Interactions


  • Abhiram Kidambi
  • Alberto Lusiani
  • Alexander Soloviev
  • Alfredo Urbano
  • Alicia Wongel
  • Andre Hoang
  • Andreas Ipp
  • Andreas Schäfer
  • Angelika Widl
  • Anton Rebhan
  • Antonio Di Domenico
  • Astrid Eichhorn
  • Axel Maas
  • Christoph Regner
  • Christopher Lepenik
  • Cohl Furey
  • Céline Zwikel
  • Daniel Grumiller
  • Daniel Lechner
  • Daniel Spitzbart
  • David Mueller
  • Dietmar Kuhn
  • Dominik Schwarz
  • Emma Simpson Dore
  • Eniko Regos
  • Ennio Salvioni
  • Fabian Zierler
  • Francesco Bigazzi
  • Francesco Sannino
  • Frederic Brünner
  • Friedrich Schöller
  • Gerald Kelnhofer
  • Gerhard Ecker
  • Guy Moore
  • Harald Grosse
  • Hartmut Abele
  • Helmut Neufeld
  • Helmuth Hüffel
  • herbert rohringer
  • Hermès Bélusca-Maïto
  • Ines Ruffa
  • Jan Henryk Kalinowski
  • Jiri Horejsi
  • Jiří Formánek
  • Josef Leutgeb
  • Josef Pradler
  • Jui-Lin Kuo
  • Karl Landsteiner
  • Ken'ichi Saikawa
  • Malcolm Perry
  • Margarida Nesbitt Rebelo
  • Maria Catalina Espinoza Hernandez
  • Maria Schimpf
  • Marija Mađor-Božinović
  • Markus Schröfl
  • Massimiliano Procura
  • Navid K. Rad
  • Niccolò Cribiori
  • Niko Koivunen
  • Peter Carny
  • Peter Matak
  • Peter Millington
  • Peter Mészáros
  • Philipp Stanzer
  • Raphaela Wutte
  • Samuel Beznák
  • Shigenori Seki
  • Simon Plätzer
  • Timm Wrase
  • Tomas Blazek
  • Winfried Mitaroff
  • Wolfgang Lucha
  • Xiaoyong Chu
  • Zoltán Péli
  • Zsolt Lászlóffy
  • Zuzana Sinska