18-22 February 2019
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

The Gigatracker, the silicon beam tracker for the NA62 experiment at CERN.

21 Feb 2019, 10:15


Talk Semiconductor Detectors Semiconductor Detectors


Luca Federici (CERN)


The Gigatracker is the NA62 beam tracker. It is made of three $63.1 mm \times 29.3 mm$ stations of $300 \mu m \times 300 \mu m $hybrid silicon pixel detectors installed in vacuum ($\sim10^{-6} mbar$).
The beam particles, flowing at 750 MHz, are traced in 4-dimensions by means of time-stamping pixels with a design resolution of $200 ps$. This performance has to be maintained despite the beam irradiation amounting to a yearly fluence of $2 \times 10^{14}~1\,\rm{MeV~eq.~n /cm^{2}}$.
The detector material minimization is paramount, as the detector faces the full beam. The station material budget is reduced to $0.5\% X_0$ by using (HEP world first) microchannels cooling.
We will describe the detector design and performances during the NA62 runs.

Primary authors

Luca Federici (CERN) Gianluca Aglieri Rinella (CERN) Diego Alvarez Feito (CERN) Roberta Arcidiacono (Universita Del Piemonte Orientale (IT)) Cristina Biino (INFN Torino (IT)) Sandro Bonacini (CERN) Augusto Ceccucci (CERN) Stefano Chiozzi (Universita di Ferrara & INFN (IT)) Eduardo Cortina Gil (Universite Catholique de Louvain (UCL) (BE)) Angelo Cotta Ramusino (Universita di Ferrara & INFN (IT)) Jordan Degrange (CERN) Massimiliano Fiorini (University and INFN Ferrara) Enrico Gamberini (CERN) Alberto Gianoli (Universita di Ferrara & INFN (IT)) Jan Kaplon (CERN) Alina Kleimenova (Universite Catholique de Louvain (UCL) (BE)) Alex Kluge (CERN) Alessandro Mapelli (CERN) Flavio Marchetto (Universita and INFN-Torino(IT)) Ernesto Migliore (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Elisa Minucci (Universite Catholique de Louvain (UCL) (BE)) Michel Morel (CERN) Jerome Noel (CERN) Matthew Noy (CERN) Lukas Perktold (Graz University of Technology (AT)) Mathieu Perrin-Terrin (CERN) Paolo Petagna (CERN) Ferruccio Petrucci (Universita di Ferrara) Karolina Poltorak (AGH University of Science and Technology (PL)) Giulia Romagnoli (Universita e INFN Genova (IT)) Giuseppe Ruggiero (Lancaster University (GB)) Bob Velghe (TRIUMF (CA)) Heiner Wahl (Universita e INFN, Ferrara (IT))

Presentation materials