Feb 18 – 22, 2019
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Novel monolithic array of Silicon Drift Detector systems designed for X-ray absorption fluorescence and low energy X-ray fluorescence

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 96
Poster Semiconductor Detectors Poster Session A


Daniela Cirrincione (INFN-Ts)


In recent decades, new and better detectors for X-ray spectroscopy have been developed, and, among these, many are based on Silicon Drift Detectors (SDD). We present a further improvement resulting from the dedicated optimization of the whole detector system: SDD detector design and production technology, ultra-low noise front-end electronics, dedicated acquisition system and digital filtering.
Two new detector systems based on monolithic arrays of SDD have been developed.
The first detector system is designed for Low Energy X-Ray Fluorescence (LEXRF), in particular for the TwinMic beamline at Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste. It is composed of 4 trapezoidal monolithic arrays of SDDs, each having 8 square cells; the system has a total non-collimated area of 1230 mm2 and it is optimized to work in vacuum in an energy range of 200-4000 eV.
The second detector system, designed for the Jordan’s synchrotron light source SESAME, is optimized for X-Ray Fluorescence (XRF) and X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (XAFS). It is composed of 8 rectangular monolithic arrays of SDDs, each having 8 square cells. This system has a total non-collimated area of 576 mm2 and it is optimized to work in an energy range of 3-30 keV.
The two detector systems were tested at the Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste on the TwinMic and XAFS beamlines. The results of the latest characterization tests carried out with the two systems will be presented.

Primary author


Matteo Altissimo (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Matias Antonelli (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Giuliana Aquilanti (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Pierluigi Bellutti (FBK) Giuseppe Bertuccio (Politecnico di Milano) Giacomo Borghi (TERA Foundation (IT)) Jernej Bufon (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Giuseppe Cautero (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Francesco Ficorella (FBK - Fondazione Bruno Kessler) Massimo Gandola (Politecnico di Milano) Alessandra Gianoncelli (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Dario Giuressi (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) George Kourousias (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Filippo Mele (Politecnico di Milano) Ralf Hendrik Menk (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Luca Olivi (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Giulio Orzan (INFN Trieste) Antonino Picciotto (Fondazione Bruno Kessler - FBK) Irina Rashevskaya (Universita e INFN, Trieste (IT)) Dr Alexander Rashevsky (INFN di Trieste) Martina Sammartini (Politecnico di Milano) Stefano Schillani (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Luigi Stebel (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste) Dr Gianluigi Zampa (INFN di Trieste) Dr Nicola Zampa (INFN di Trieste) Nicola Zorzi (Fondazione Bruno Kessler - FBK) Dr Andrea Vacchi (INFN di Trieste)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.