Jul 21 – 25, 2019
Connecticut Convention Center, Level 6
US/Eastern timezone

M2Po2B-04 [35]: Magnetization creep and decay of YBa2Cu3O7-x thin films with columnar Y2BaCuO5 and BaZrO3 pinning center additions

Jul 23, 2019, 1:30 PM
Level 6, Cryo Expo Exhibit Hall

Level 6, Cryo Expo Exhibit Hall


Dr Mary Ann Sebastian (UDRI & U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory)


Maximizing critical current density (Jc) and minimizing flux creep in high temperature superconductors (HTS) is critical for their inclusion in accelerator magnets where both high magnitude and high stability magnetic fields are required. In YBa2Cu3O7-x (YBCO) thin films, critical current density can be enhanced by either the addition of many shallow pinning centers or the addition of fewer, deeper pins. In contrast, flux creep is better managed by the addition of deep pins. Pulsed laser deposition (PLD) was utilized to fabricate YBCO thin films on SrTiO3 (STO) substrates with two different, non-reacting, and insulating phase additions: BaZrO3 (BZO) and Y2BaCuO5 (Y211). Targets utilized in the PLD process consisted of YBCO doped with 2 vol. % BZO, and YBCO doped with 0, 5, 10, and 15 vol. % Y211. XRD and TEM characterization was performed. Magnetic Jc (B,T,) properties were determined. Additionally, the magnetic relaxation of the samples was measured at fields from 0-8 T and at temperatures of 4.2 to 77 K. The results of these measurements were used to generate U(J) vs. J curves for each sample; fits were performed to extract an intrinsic pinning potential (U0). These data were compared with high resolution XRD and TEM data on these uniquely hetero-structured YBCO films to elucidate structure-property relationships.

Primary authors

Mr Cody Myers (The Ohio State University) Dr Mary Ann Sebastian (UDRI & U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory) Michael Susner (Air Force Research Laboratory)


Jijie Huang (Purdue University) Dr Chen Fong Tsai (University of Purdue) Han Wang (Purdue University) Di Zhang (Purdue University) Dr Haiyan Wang (Purdue University) Bibek Gautam (The University of Kansas) Judy Wu (University of Kansas) Dr Michael Sumption (The Ohio State University) Timothy Haugan (U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.