Test beam studies of barrel and endcap modules for the ATLAS ITk strip detector before and after irradiation

Dec 17, 2019, 2:20 PM
Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
ORAL Strip sensors Session9


Frederik Ruehr (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE))


In order to cope with the occupancy and radiation doses expected at the High-Luminosity LHC, the ATLAS experiment will replace its Inner Detector with an all-silicon Inner Tracker (ITk), consisting of pixel and strip subsystems. The strip subsystem will be built from modules, consisting of one n$^{+}$-in-p silicon strip sensor, manufactured by Hamamatsu Photonics, and one or two PCB hybrids containing the front-end electronics glued directly to the sensor. A powerboard, containing an HV switch, a monitoring and control ASIC, and a DC-DC converter, is also glued to the sensor.

In the last two years, several prototype ITk strip modules have been tested using beams of high energy electrons and charged pions produced at the DESY-II and CERN SPS testbeam facilities. Tracking was provided by EUDET telescopes, consisting of six Mimosa26 pixel planes, giving a resolution around 2 µm. The modules tested are built from two sensor types: the rectangular ATLAS17LS, which will be used in the central barrel region of the detector, and the annular ATLAS12EC, which will be used in the innermost ring (R0) of the forward endcap region. Each sensor geometry has been tested using both the final prototype version of the front-end electronics, known as "star" chipset, as well as a previous prototype chipset developed for lower trigger rate specification. Additionally, a structure with two R0 modules positioned back-to-back has been measured, demonstrating space point reconstruction using the stereo angle of the strips. Finally, two R0 modules, one with each chipset, have been measured after irradiation to 50% beyond the expected end-of-lifetime fluence.

The data obtained allow for thorough tests of the module performance, including charge collection, noise occupancy, detection efficiency, and tracking performance. Additionally, the excellent tracking resolution allows for detailed studies of various sensor features. The results give confidence that the ITk strip detector will meet the requirements of the ATLAS experiment.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary author

Frederik Ruehr (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE))


Arturo Rodriguez Rodriguez (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Ashley Greenall (University of Liverpool (GB)) Ben Bruers (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Bianca Monica Ciungu (University of Toronto (CA)) Bruce Gallop (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Carlos Escobar Ibañez (Instituto de Fisica Corpuscular (IFIC) - CSIC/UV) Carlos Garcia Argos (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Chris Gubbels (University of British Columbia (CA)) Christoph Thomas Klein (University of Cambridge (GB)) Claire David (York University (CA)) Craig Anthony Sawyer (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Craig Wiglesworth (University of Copenhagen (DK)) Cyril Pascal Becot (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Dennis Sperlich (Humboldt University of Berlin (DE)) Dylan Perry Kisliuk (University of Toronto (CA)) Edoardo Rossi (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Emma Buchanan (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Etienne Dreyer (Simon Fraser University (CA)) Francesco Guescini (Max-Planck-Institut fur Physik (DE)) Franziska Sophia Moos (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Hongbo Zhu (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Huan Yu Meng (University of Toronto (CA)) Dr Ina Carli (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Ingrid-Maria Gregor (DESY & Bonn University) Jan-Hendrik Arling (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Jianbei Liu (University of Science and Technology of China (CN)) Jiri Kroll (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) John Stakely Keller (Carleton University (CA)) Jonas Loenker (Technische Universitaet Dortmund (DE)) Juergen Thomas (University of Birmingham (GB)) Laura Rehnisch (Humboldt University of Berlin (DE)) Liv Wiik-Fuchs (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Marc Hauser (Albert Ludwigs Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Marianna Liberatore (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Marko Milovanovic (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Martin Sykora (Charles University (CZ)) Matthew Basso (University of Toronto (CA)) Mercedes Minano Moya (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Michaela Queitsch-Maitland (CERN) Naim Bora Atlay (Humboldt University of Berlin (DE)) Dr Nesrine Rabhi (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) Ondrej Kovanda (Charles University (CZ)) Peter Phillips (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Radek Privara (Palacky University (CZ)) Sam Yanwing Ng (Humboldt University of Berlin (DE)) Sergio Diez Cornell (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)) Sven Wonsak (University of Liverpool (GB)) Thomas Koffas (Carleton University (CA)) Tony Affolder (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Vit Zahradnik (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) Weimin Song (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB)) Xiaocong Ai (UC Berkeley) Yi Liu (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE))

Presentation materials