Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

IHEP-NDL Prototype LGAD sensors for the HGTD

Dec 18, 2019, 2:00 PM
Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

Sun: B1F-Meeting rooms#4-6; Mon-Wed: B2F-RAN

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
ORAL New ideas and future applications Session13


Dr yunyun fan (IHEP)


A High-Granularity Timing Detector (HGTD), based on Low-Gain Avalanche Detector (LGAD) technology, is proposed for the ATLAS Phase-II upgrade.
In this contribution, we present new developments in the production of LGAD by NDL (Novel Device Laboratory, Beijing) and IHEP. NDL has delivered three batches of LGAD prototype sensors at the beginning of 2019. These sensors are fabricated with 30um high resistivity epitaxial silicon layer. Time resolution of 𝜎 ~ 30 ps can be achieved with these sensors in both beta test and electron beam test before irradiation.
We will also show the collected charge and timing performances of IHEP-NDL LGAD sensors after proton irradiation up to 4.5 E15 neq/cm^2 or after X-ray irradiation up to 3MGy. A variety of design strategies to improve radiation hardness, including changing the guard ring design, varying the resistance of the epitaxial silicon layer and varying gain layer doping profile of LGAD sensors, will be discussed.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary authors

Dr yunyun fan (IHEP) Liaoshan Shi (Academia Sinica (TW)) Xin Shi (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Yuzhen Yang (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Joao Barreiro Guimaraes Da Costa (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Tao Yang (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Kewei Wu (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Dr Zhijun Liang (Institute of High Energy Physics Chinese Academy of Sciences) Dr Ryuta 􏺙􏺈􏺒􏺘􏺄Kiuchi (Institute of High Energy Physics Chinese Academy of Sciences) Suyu Xiao (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Chengjun Yu (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Yuhang Tan (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Bo Liu (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN) & Iowa State University (US)) Xuai Zhuang (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Mohamad Kassem Ayoub (Institute of High Energy Physics (IHEP)) Dr Mei Zhao (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Yanping Huang (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Lianyou Shan (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN)) Dr Feng Lu Shuo Han (Chinese Academy of Sciences (CN))

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.