MCEGs for future ep and eA facilities

Erwin Schrödinger Institut, Wien

Erwin Schrödinger Institut, Wien


The third workshop on “MCEGs for future ep and eA facilities” will take place at the Erwin-Schrödinger-Institute in Vienna, Austria. The workshop will start on November 20, 2019,  after lunch and will end on November 22, 2019, in the early afternoon. The workshop series aims to discuss:

  • Requirements and R&D needs for Monte Carlo Event Generators (MCEGs) for electron-proton (ep) and electron-nucleus (eA) collision measurements

  • Roadmap for MCEG developments for upcoming ep and eA facilities 

and will focus in November on MCEGs for eA processes at the Electron-Ion Collider (EIC). We will discuss both measurements with light and heavy ions.

The workshop is organized by scientists working on the EIC, E.-C. Aschenauer (BNL), A. Bressan (INFN, Trieste) and M. Diefenthaler (JLab), and scientists from the MCEG community, H. Jung (DESY) S. Plätzer (MCnet, Vienna) and S. Prestel (MCnet, Lund). 

A list of hotels close to the venue can be found here. The Erwin-Schrödinger-Institute is located at the Boltzmanngasse 9 in 1090 Wien. Please see here for more details on how to reach the workshop venue. 

  • Alexey Vladimirov
  • Andrea Bressan
  • Andreas van Hameren
  • Brian Page
  • Christian Bierlich
  • Christian Weiss
  • Christine Rasmussen
  • Elke-Caroline Aschenauer
  • Francesco Hautmann
  • Hannes Jung
  • James Black
  • James Mulligan
  • Kolja Kauder
  • Krzysztof Kutak
  • Leif Lönnblad
  • Maria Zurita
  • Markus Diefenthaler
  • Michael Weber
  • Roberto Preghenella
  • Simon Platzer
  • Stefan Prestel
  • Thomas Ullrich
  • Vadim Guzey
  • Zhoudunming Tu
    • 1
      Welcome and Introduction
      Speaker: Helmut Neufeld (on behalf of Simon Plätzer) (University of Vienna (AT))
    • 2
      Summary of previous workshops
      Speaker: Markus Diefenthaler (Jefferson Lab)
    • 3
      Challenges for MCEG for eA
      Speaker: Leif Lönnblad (Lund University (SE))
    • 2:30 PM
      Coffee Break
    • 4
      eA Theory: Light Ions
      Speaker: Christian Weiss (Jefferson Lab)
    • 5
      eA Theory: Heavy Ions
      Speaker: Vadim Guzey (NRC Kurchatov Institute PNPI (RU))
    • 6
    • 7:00 PM
      Workshop Dinner Gasthaus Wild --

      Gasthaus Wild --

      Radetzkyplatz 1 1030 Wien
    • 7
      Nuclear PDFs
      Speaker: Maria Pia Zurita
    • 8
      Speaker: Dr Tu Zhoudunming (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
    • 9
      MCEGs for spectator tagging in eD
      Speaker: Christian Weiss (Jefferson Lab)
    • 10:30 AM
      Coffee Break
    • 10
      MCEGs at ALICE
      Speakers: Michael Weber (Stefan Meyer Institute for Subatomic Physics (SMI), Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)), Roberto Preghenella (INFN, Bologna (IT))
    • 11
      Speaker: James Mulligan (University of California, Berkeley (US))
    • 12
      JETSCAPE for EIC
      Speaker: Kolja Kauder (Brookhaven National Lab)
    • 12:30 PM
      Lunch break (on our own)
    • 13
      MCEGs for Saturation
      Speaker: Raju Venugopalan (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
    • 14
      Speaker: Thomas Ullrich (Yale University (US))
    • 15
      Angantyr: Mueller dipole morels for pA and eA
      Speaker: Christine Overgaard Rasmussen (Lund University)
    • 3:30 PM
      Coffee Break
    • 16
      Nuclear TMDs
      Speaker: Krzysztof Kutak (Instytut Fizyki Jadrowej Polskiej Akademii Nauk)
    • 17
      Wrap-up eA discussion
    • 7:00 PM
      Workshop Dinner Habibi & Hawara --

      Habibi & Hawara --

      Siebensterngasse 46 1070 Wien
    • 18
      Speakers: Hannes Jung (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)), Simon Platzer (University of Vienna (AT))
    • 19
      Rivet for Heavy Ions
      Speaker: Christian Bierlich (Lund University (SE))
    • 20
      MCEG for SIDIS - General thoughts
      Speaker: Prof. Andrea Bressan (Universita e INFN Trieste (IT))
    • 21
      DIS Monte Carlo with TMDs
      Speaker: Andreas van Hameren (IFJ PAN)
    • 10:40 AM
      Coffee Break
    • 22
      ARTEMIDE calculating TMDs
      Speaker: Alexey Vladimirov
    • 23
      Parton branching TMDs and collider cross sections
      Speaker: Francesco Hautmann (Institute of Theoretical Physics)
    • 24
      TMDs and Coherent Branching
      Speaker: Simon Platzer (University of Vienna (AT))
    • 25
      Wrap-up TMD disussion and Farewell