Sep 10 – 12, 2012
Krakow, Poland
Europe/Zurich timezone

Implications of LHC results for TeV-scale physics: signals of electroweak symmetry breaking

Not scheduled
Krakow, Poland

Krakow, Poland


The recent discovery of a Higgs-like state at the LHC with a mass near 125 GeV has opened a new era of particle physics. It will be of utmost impor- tance to precisely determine the properties of this new state, with the aim to identify the mechanism of electroweak symmetry breaking (EWSB). This will require a comprehensive programme of high-precision measurements. Fur- ther measurements are also important in this context, in particular searches for manifestations of extended Higgs sectors, searches for new particles, and an improvement of electroweak precision measurements such as the mass of the top quark and the W boson as well as the effective weak leptonic mixing an- gle and triple gauge couplings. Finally the study of longitudinal vector boson scattering up to the highest energy scales is one of the key methods to discrim- inate between models and to reveal the nature of the symmetry breaking. The current experimental status of exploring the physics of electroweak symmetry breaking is briefly summarised, based on the results achieved at the LHC and elsewhere. The implications of the present and possible future results from the LHC for the physics programme of proposed future colliders are discussed.

Primary authors

Andreas Weiler (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Chiara Mariotti (INFN (IT) and CERN) Georg Ralf Weiglein (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Marumi Kado (Universite de Paris-Sud 11 (FR)) Sven Heinemeyer (CSIC (Santander, ES))


A. David (LIP Laboratorio de Instrumentacao e Fisica Experimental de Part) Albert De Roeck (CERN) Alessandro Mario Ballestrero (Universita e INFN (IT)) Alexander Lincoln Read (EPF group-Department of Physics-University of Oslo) Alexandre Arbey (Lyon U.) Barbara Mele (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Bill Murray (STFC - Science & Technology Facilities Council (GB)) Brando Bellazzini (Universita' di Padova) Christoph Paus (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Christophe Grojean (CERN) Eilam Gross (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)) Elisabetta Furlan (B) Emidio Gabrielli (Helsinki Institute of Physics HIP) Ezio Maina (Universita e INFN (IT)) Giovanni Petrucciani (Univ. of California San Diego (US)) Gudrid Moortgat-Pick (University of Hamburg) Jack Gunion (University of California Davis (US)) Johan Rathsman (Uppsala University) Mr Jose Cembranos (Univ. Complutense de Madrid) Prof. Juergen Reuter (University of Freiburg) Karl Jakobs (Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg (DE)) Marcello Mannelli (CERN) Marco Zanetti (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Maria Krawczyk (Warsaw University of Technology) Markus Schumacher (Physikalisches Institut-Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet Freiburg-Unk) Marta Felcini (IFCA - CSIC) Dr Martti Raidal (Nat. Inst. of Chem.Phys. & Biophys. (EE)) Michael Duehrssen-Debling (CERN) Michael Kobel (Technische Universitaet Dresden (DE)) Michelangelo Mangano (CERN) Nazila Mahmoudi (CERN) Nikolaos Rompotis (University of Washington (US)) Mr Oscar Stål (Uppsala University) Philipp Anger (Technische Universitaet Dresden (DE)) Sabine Kraml (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Sara Bolognesi (Johns Hopkins University (US)) Ulrich Ellwanger (University Paris 11) Ulrike Schnoor (Technische Universitaet Dresden (DE)) Veronica Sanz Gonzalez (Y)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.