June 28, 2015 to July 2, 2015
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort
Etc/GMT-7 timezone

Design and manufacture of the large-bore 8T superconducting solenoid for the NAFASSY test facility

Jun 30, 2015, 5:00 PM
Tucson Ballroom F

Tucson Ballroom F

Contributed Oral Presentation CEC-06 - Superconducting Magnet Systems C2OrF - Superconducting Magnets II


Dr Antonio della Corte (ENEA - C.R. Frascati, Italy)


A wide bore superconducting solenoid is the core of the NAFASSY (NAtional FAcility for Superconducting SYstems) test facility, which is under construction at the University of Salerno. The NAFASSY laboratory is a joint program among University of Salerno, ENEA, CRdC and INFN under the financial support of the Italian Ministry for University and Research. The facility, hosted in a new building, includes a 250 W supercritical He refrigerator, a 20kA two quadrants (-20V, +25V) power converter for feeding the solenoid or INFN fast ramped accelerator magnets, and a 50kA/+12V power supply for the testing sample. The completion and the commissioning of the facility is foreseen within 2016. The NAFASSY magnet is a large-bore Nb3Sn solenoid, able to provide a peak field of 8 T close to the insert inner radius. Having a warm bore diameter of 1144 mm and a height of 1276 mm, the solenoid will allow to perform tests relevant for long size NbTi or medium-field Nb3Sn Cable-In-Conduit Conductors (CICCs), as well as small magnets, at variable temperature (ranging from 4.2 K to 10 K) in the presence of a transverse magnetic field. In fact, the warm bore makes the sample under test to be independent of the background solenoid. The design of the magnet is based on a rectangular CICC, cooled by forced flow supercritical He at 4.5 K and fed at a maximum current of 20 kA through a pair of high temperature superconductors current leads. The detailed design of the 8T solenoid, including the electro-magnetic, structural and thermo-hydraulic analysis, will be reported, as well as the production status.

Primary author

Valentina Corato (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy)


Dr Aldo Di Zenobio (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Alessandro Anemona (ICAS) Dr Antonio della Corte (ENEA - C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Chiarasole Fiamozzi Zignani (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Giordano Tomassetti (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Giuseppe Messina (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Mr Luigi Affinito (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Luigi Muzzi (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Mrs Rosa Freda (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Mr Sandro Chiarelli (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Simonetta Turtù (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Ugo Besi Vetrella (ENEA- C.R. Frascati, Italy) Dr Umberto Gambardella (INFN- Sezione di Napoli, Italy)

Presentation materials