Sep 2 – 9, 2007
Victoria, Canada
Europe/Zurich timezone
Please book accomodation as soon as possible.

Online and offline software for the CMS strip tracker data acquisition system

Sep 6, 2007, 3:20 PM
Oak Bay (Victoria, Canada)

Oak Bay

Victoria, Canada

Board: 15
oral presentation Online Computing Online computing


Dr Robert Bainbridge (Imperial College London)


The CMS silicon strip tracker, providing a sensitive area of >200 m^2 and comprising 10M readout channels, is undergoing final assembly at the tracker integration facility at CERN. The strip tracker community is currently working to develop and integrate the online and offline software frameworks, known as XDAQ and CMSSW respectively, for the purposes of data acquisition and detector commissioning. Recent developments have seen the integration of many new services and tools within the online data acquisition system, such as event building, online distributed analysis within CMSSW, an online monitoring framework, and data storage management. We review the various software components that comprise the strip tracker data acquisition system, the software architectures used for “local” and “global” data-taking modes, and our experiences during commissioning and operation of large-scale systems.
Submitted on behalf of Collaboration (ex, BaBar, ATLAS) CMS tracker collaboration

Primary authors

Dr Laurent Mirabito (Institut de Physique Nucleaire de Lyon) Dr Robert Bainbridge (Imperial College London)


Dr Alessandro Giassi (INFN, Sezione di Pisa) Dr Christophe Delaere (CERN) Dr Domenico Giordano (INFN & Università di Bari) Dr Frederic Drouhin (Universite de Haute Alsace) Dr Guillaume Beaulieu (Institut de Physique Nucleaire de Lyon) Dr Joanne Cole (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) Dr Jonathan Fulcher (Imperial College London) Dr Kristian Hahn (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Dr Laurent Gross (Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien, CNRS) Mr Matthew Wingham (Imperial College London) Mr Milan Nikolic (University of California) Mr Nicholas Cripps (Imperial College London) Mr Sebastien Bel (CERN) Dr Slawomir Tkaczyk (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Stefano Mersi (INFN & Università di Firenze)

Presentation materials