Sep 2 – 9, 2007
Victoria, Canada
Europe/Zurich timezone
Please book accomodation as soon as possible.

Implementation of chamber mis-alignments and deformations in the ATLAS Muon Spectrometer description and estimate of the muon reconstruction performance reconstruction performance

Sep 5, 2007, 8:00 AM
10h 10m
Victoria, Canada

Victoria, Canada

Board: 46
poster Event Processing Poster 2


Dr Daniela Rebuzzi (INFN Pavia and Pavia University)


The Atlas Muon Spectrometer is designed to reach a very high transverse momentum resolution for muons in a pT range extending from 6 GeV/c up to 1 Tev/c. The most demanding design goal is an overall uncertainty of 50 microns on the sagitta of a muon with pT = 1 TeV/c. Such precision requires an accurate control of the positions of the muon detectors and of their movements during the experiment operation. Moreover, the light structure of the Muon Spectrometer, consisting mainly of drift tubes assembled in three layers of stations, imply sizable distortions of the nominal layout of individual chambers, due to mechanical stress and thermal gradients. Corrections for mis-alignments and deformations, which will be provided run-time by an optical alignment system, must be integrated in the software chain leading to track reconstruction and momentum measurement. Here we discuss the implementation of run-time dependent corrections for alignment and distortions in the detector description of the Muon Spectrometer along with the strategies for studying such effects in dedicated simulations. Some preliminary results obtained in the context of the ATLAS Condition Data Challenge effort are also presented.

Primary authors

Dr Ahmimed Ouraou (Centre d'Etudes de Saclay) Dr Daniela Rebuzzi (INFN Pavia and Pavia University) Dr Ivan Logachenko (Boston University) Dr James Miller (Boston University) Dr Jean Francois Laporte (Centre d'Etudes de Saclay) Dr Laurent Chevalier (DAPNIA) Dr Matthias Schott (Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen) Dr Monica Verducci (CERN) Dr Nectarios Benekos (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik) Dr Niels Van Eldik (University of Massachusetts) Dr Robert Harrington (Boston University) Dr Stefania Spagnolo (Universita' di Lecce, Italy) Dr Stephane Willocq (University of Massachusetts) Dr Steven Goldfarb (University of Michigan)

Presentation materials