TMDe2015 - A path towards TMD extraction

Giambiagi Lecture Hall (Trieste)

Giambiagi Lecture Hall


Adriatico guesthouse, lower level 1 ICTP - Strada Costiera, 11 I - 34151 Trieste Italy
Andrea Bressan (Universita e INFN, Trieste (IT)), Anna Martin (Trieste University and INFN (IT)), Franco Bradamante (Universita e INFN, Trieste (IT))

Transverse momentum dependent parton distribution functions (TMD PDFs) are crucial elements for the understanding of the nucleon structure in terms of the quark and gluon degrees of freedom in QCD, beyond the collinear approximation. The recent findings in the theoretical and experimental fields have allowed remarkable progress. The knowledge of these functions, however, is still in its infancy. 

This mini-workshop is focused on transversity and TMD extraction from semi-inclusive deep inelastic scattering (SIDIS) data. It is structured as a working group meeting, gathering people directly involved in the field, with the goal of tracking the road towards further progress using the existing data and planning new measurements in the near future. 

The aim of the Italian community involved in the organization is to create an opportunity for deep, open and constructive discussions to review the state of the art and the near future perspectives on

  • TMD evolution and higher twist effects
  • analysis of unpolarised SIDIS data, pT distributions, azimuthal dependences
  • azimuthal asymmetries in transversely and longitudinally polarized SIDIS
  • TMD fragmentation functions in e+e- and SIDIS processes
  • new data analysis methods

with focus on TMD extraction.

The participants, all physicists working on TMD phenomenology and on related experiments, are expected to share their experience, discuss methodologies and propose new ideas with a collaborative attitude in a relaxing environment.
The mini-workshop will mainly consist of round table discussions with a few introductory presentations.

The proceedings will be replaced by a short written report on the outcome of the meeting.

The Workshop is supported by ECSAC, the European Centre for Science Arts and Culture which organizes conferences and meetings in Losinj or Trieste each year since 2001, and it is a hosted activity of the Abdul Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics.

For any information please contact the Organizing Committee:    e-mail:

Scientific Programme
  • Adam Szabelski
  • Albi Kerbizi
  • Alessandro Bacchetta
  • Andrea Bianconi
  • Andrea Bressan
  • Andrea Giovannini
  • Andrea Signori
  • Anna Martin
  • Anselm Vossen
  • Aram Kotzinian
  • Barbara Pasquini
  • Bo-Qiang Ma
  • Charlotte Van Hulse
  • Christian Weiss
  • Cristian Pisano
  • Elena Santopinto
  • Elke-Caroline Aschenauer
  • Fabio Anulli
  • Federico Alberto Ceccopieri
  • Francesco Murgia
  • Franco Bradamante
  • Fulvio Tessarotto
  • Gary Goldstein
  • Giulio sbrizzai
  • Harut avakian
  • Hrayr Matevosyan
  • Ignazio Scimemi
  • Isabella Garzia
  • J Osvaldo Gonzalez Hernandez
  • Jan Matousek
  • Krzysztof Kurek
  • Leonard Gamberg
  • Marco Contalbrigo
  • Marco mirazita
  • Marco Radici
  • Mariaelena Boglione
  • Markus Diefenthaler
  • Mauro Anselmino
  • Michael Pesek
  • Patrizia Rossi
  • Philip Ratcliffe
  • Rolf Ent
  • Sergio Scopetta
  • Shuddha Shankar Dasgupta
  • Silvia Pisano
  • Simonetta Liuti
  • Stefano Melis
  • Tianbo Liu
  • Vincenzo Barone
Secretary: Serena Baldini