August 27, 2017 to September 1, 2017
RAI Congress Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Detailed analysis of conduction-cooled MgB2 for use in superconducting magnetic density separation

Aug 30, 2017, 1:15 PM
1h 45m
Posters Area

Posters Area

Poster Presentation of 1h45m E4 - Levitation and Magnetic Bearings Wed-Af-Po3.07


Mr Dorus Dijkstra (University of Twente)


Superconducting MgB2 wire is characterized to analyze the optimum working point of a magnet system for magnetic density separation (MDS) in terms of the magnetic field and operating temperature. MDS is an innovative recycling technology that selectively separates particles in a waste stream based on their mass density by suspending them in a ferro-fluid that flows through a strong vertical magnetic field gradient. Application of superconducting MDS on an industrial scale will require a user-friendly conduction-cooled magnet system. With its relatively high critical temperature and relatively low cost, MgB2 is a prime candidate material to realize such a magnet. Since the separation forces depend on the product of the magnetic field and the ferro-fluid magnetization, the optimal design of a superconducting MDS system has to balance magnet cost (CAPEX, higher field implies a more expensive magnet) against the ferro-fluid price (OPEX, higher field allows for a more dilute fluid) and cooling requirements (OPEX, lower temperature implies higher power consumption). To be able to achieve this optimal balance, the critical surface of MgB2 wire produced by Columbus Superconductors SpA is measured in detail and used as starting point to calculate the most adequate operating point of an MgB2-based MDS system. This work is part of the research programme “Innovative Magnetic Density Separation for the optimal use of resources and energy“ with project number P14-07, which is (partly) financed by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO).

Submitters Country Netherlands

Primary author

Dr Marc Dhallé (University of Twente)


Dr Chao Zhou (University of Twente ) Mr Dorus Dijkstra (University of Twente) Giovanni Grasso (Columbus Superconductors SpA) Prof. Herman ten Kate (University of Twente ) Mr Jaap Kosse (University of Twente) Prof. Marcel ter Brake (University of Twente) Matteo Tropeano (Columbus Superconductors, SpA)

Presentation materials