August 27, 2017 to September 1, 2017
RAI Congress Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Development Progress of a 9.4 T 100 mm Metal-Clad No-Insulation All-REBCO High-Resolution NMR Magnet Cooled by Conduction

Aug 28, 2017, 3:45 PM
Emerald Room

Emerald Room

Regular 15 minutes Oral Presentation D1 - Magnets for NMR Mon-Af-Or5


Dr SangGap Lee (Korea Basic Science Institute)


Since 2014, the Korea Basic Science Institute (KBSI), the Korea Institute of Machinery and Materials, the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, and the SuNAM Co., Ltd. have been on international collaboration to develop a 9.4 T (400 MHz $^1$H frequency) 100 mm winding-diameter metal-clad no-insulation all-REBa$_2$Cu$_3$O$_{7-x}$ (REBCO, RE = Rare Earth) high-resolution NMR magnet cooled by conduction. Once successfully completed in 2019, the magnet will be installed at the KBSI to serve as a new 400 MHz solid-state NMR user magnet. Prior to completion of the 400-MHz NMR magnet, a 3 T 100-mm metal-clad no-insulation all-REBCO “Demo” magnet was fabricated and tested, demonstrating that the approach of “metallic cladding” enables significant reduction in charging delay of a no-insulation magnet without losing its self-protecting feature and thus faster field shaking that is efficient for mitigation of screening current induced field. This paper presents the recent progress in development of the 9.4 T NMR magnet.
This work was supported by KBSI grant (D37611) to S.-G.L. funded by the Korea Basic Science Institute (KBSI).

Submitters Country Republic of Korea, USA

Primary authors

Dr SangGap Lee (Korea Basic Science Institute) Prof. Seungyong Hahn (Electrical and Computer Engineering, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea) Mr Sangwon Yoon (SuNAM Co., Ltd.) Jae young Jang (Korea Basic Science Institute) Young Jin Hwang (Korea Basic Science Institute) Dr Jun Hee Han (Korea Basic Science Institute) Mr Jaemin Kim (SuNAM Co., Ltd.) Mr Kang Hwang Shin (SuNAM Co., Ltd.) Kyekun Cheon (SuNAM)


Dr Hunju Lee (SuNAM Co., Ltd.) Dr Sehwan In (Korea Institute of Machinery and Materials) Yong-Ju Hong (Korea Instiute of Machinery & Materials) Dr Hankil Yeom (Korea Institute of Machinery and Materials) Dr Kwanglok Kim (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory) Kwangmin Kim (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory) Min Cheol Ahn (Kunsan National University)

Presentation materials