9-13 July 2018
Sofia, Bulgaria
Europe/Sofia timezone

Belle II Track Reconstruction and Results from first Collisions

Jul 10, 2018, 3:00 PM
Hall 3.2 (National Palace of Culture)

Hall 3.2

National Palace of Culture

presentation Track 2 – Offline computing T2 - Offline computing


Thomas Hauth (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))


In early 2018, e+e- collisions of the SuperKEKB B-Factory will be recorded by the Belle II detector in Tsukuba (Japan) for the first time. The new accelerator and detector represent a major upgrade from the previous Belle experiment and will achieve a 40-times higher instantaneous luminosity. Special considerations and challenges arise for track reconstruction at Belle II due to multiple factors. This high luminosity configuration of the collider increases the beam-induced background by many factors compared to Belle and a new track reconstruction software has been developed from scratch to achieve an excellent physics performance in this busy environment.
Even though on average only eleven signal tracks are present in one event, all of them need to be reconstructed down to a transversal momentum of 50 MeV and no fake tracks should be present in the event. Many analyses at Belle II rely on the advantage that the initial state in B-factories is well known and a clean event reconstruction is possible if no tracks are left after assigning all tracks to particle hypotheses.

This contribution will introduce the concepts and algorithms of the Belle II tracking software. Special emphasis will be put on the mitigation techniques developed to perform track reconstruction in high-occupancy events. First results from the data taking with the Belle II detector will be presented.

Primary author

Thomas Hauth (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))


Christian Wessel (University of Bonn) Peter Kodys (Charles University) Jakub Kandra (Charles University) Tadeas Bilka (Charles University, Prague) Johannes Rauch (Technische Universität München) Moritz Nadler Rudolf Fruhwirth (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Peter Kvasnicka (Charles University (CZ)) marko staric Benjamin Oberhof (INFN) Tobias Schlüter (LMU München) Trusov Viktor Eugenio Paoloni (INFN Pisa) Martin Heck Thomas Madlener (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Jonas Ferdinand Wagner (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Christian Pulvermacher (KIT) Felix Metzner (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Giulia Casarosa (Universita di Pisa & INFN (IT)) Leo Piilonen (Virginia Tech) Jakob Lettenbichler (HEPHY, Vienna/Austria) Oliver Frost (DESY) Michael Schnell (U) Ian James Watson (University of Sydney (AU)) Martin Ritter (LMU / Cluster Universe) Thomas Lueck (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Markus Prim (KIT) Stefan Ferstl Yoshihito Iwasaki (KEK) Kirill Chilikin (Lebedev Physical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences) Björn Spruck (University of Giessen) Michael Ziegler Hitoshi Ozaki (KEK)

Presentation materials