Feb 18 – 22, 2019
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Novel Resistive-Plate WELL sampling elements for (S)DHCAL

Feb 21, 2019, 10:15 AM


Talk Gaseous Detectors Gas Detectors


Dr Shikma Bressler (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL))


Digital and Semi-Digital Hadronic Calorimeters (S)DHCAL were suggested for future Colliders as part of the particle-flow concept. Though studied mostly with RPC-based techniques, studies have shown that MPGD-based sampling elements could outperform. An attractive, industry-produced, robust, particle-tracking detector for large-area coverage, e.g. in (S)DHCAL, could be the novel single-stage Resistive Plate WELL (RPWELL). It is a single-sided THGEM coupled to the segmented readout electrode through a sheet of large bulk resistivity. Past laboratory and accelerator studies were performed in moderate-size RPWELL prototypes in Ne- and Ar-based gas mixtures. These demonstrated large dynamic range (from single electrons to thousand-times MIPS), stable operation under high gains (> 105) also in hadronic beams; MIP detection efficiency>98% was reached at <1.2 pad multiplicity. We will present recent studies carried out with 6.5 mm thick (incl. electronics) 50x50 cm2 RPWELL-based sampling elements, equipped with a Semi Digital readout electronics based on the MICROROC chip. They were performed at the CERN-SPS with 150 GeV muons and high-rate pions. Results will be shown on detection efficiency, pad multiplicity, gain and efficiency uniformity and detector stability. We will further present the preliminary performance of an RPWELL-based (S)DHCAL small prototype exposed to low-energy electrons at CERN-PS. Other applications in noble-liquid and UV detectors will be discussed.

Primary authors

Dr Shikma Bressler (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)) Dr Shikma Bressler (Weizmann Institute of Science) Dr Purba Bhattacharya (Weizmann Institute of Science) Amos Breskin (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)) Artur Coimbra (Weizmann Institute of Science) Luca Moleri (Technion- Israel Institute of Technology (IL)) Mr Dan Shaked-Renous (Weizmann Institute of Science) Mr Andrea Tessi (Weizmann Institute of Science) Maximilien Chefdeville (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Guillaume Vouters (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) jean karyotakis (LAPP) Cyril Drancourt (Annecy IN2P3 (FR))

Presentation materials