18-22 February 2019
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Radiation characterization of two large and fully depleted CMOS pixel matrices fabricated in 150 nm and 180 nm technologies

21 Feb 2019, 16:55


Talk Semiconductor Detectors Semiconductor Detectors


Toko Hirono (University of Bonn (DE))


Two different design concepts of the depleted monolithic CMOS active sensor (DMAPS) are realized in the large scale pixel matrixes, named LF-Monopix and TJ-Monopix. They are realized in so-called large and small electrode design in a pixel. In the large electrode DMAPS, a high bias voltage of 300 V is applied to the highly resistive wafer without damaging the readout electronics. Full depletion of the sensor was observed at 20 V and at 120 V for 100 µm or 200 µm thinned wafer, respectively. In contrast, the small fill factor DMAPS has analog front end circuit that achieves low noise (19 e-) and low power (110 mW/cm$^2$) thanks to its small detector capacitance. The sensing volume is modified 25 µm p-epi layer, and it is also fully depleted. Both of prototypes are fully monolithic DMAPS equipped with a fast readout in column drain architecture. To investigate the radiation hardness of both pixel matrixes, they are irradiated with neutrons and protons up to the fluence of 1×10$^15$n$_{eq}$/cm$^2$. Results of electrical and beam tests performed on un-irradiated and irradiated chips will be shown in this presentation.

Primary authors

Toko Hirono (University of Bonn (DE)) Christian Bespin (University of Bonn (DE)) Ivan Dario Caicedo Sierra (University of Bonn (DE)) Jochen Christian Dingfelder (University of Bonn (DE)) Konstantinos Moustakas (University of Bonn (DE)) Tomasz Hemperek (University of Bonn (DE)) Fabian Huegging (University of Bonn) Hans Krueger (University of Bonn) Piotr Rymaszewski (University of Bonn (DE)) Tianyang Wang (University of Bonn (DE)) Norbert Wermes (Universitaet Bonn (DE)) Marlon B. Barbero (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Dr Pierre Barrillon (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Siddharth Bhat (CPPM) Patrick Breugnon (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Mr Zongde Chen (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Universite, CNRS/IN2P3) Mr Patrick Pangaud (Aix Marseille Univ, CNRS/IN2P3, CPPM, Marseille, France) Stephanie Godiot (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Alexandre Rozanov (CPPM, Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS/IN2P3 (FR)) Ivan Berdalovic (CERN) F. Guilloux (CERN) Thanushan Kugathasan (CERN) Heinz Pernegger (CERN) Hannes Friederich Walter Snoeys (CERN) Yavuz Degerli (CEA - Centre d'Etudes de Saclay (FR)) Francisco Jose Iguaz Gutierrez (IRFU/CEA-Saclay) Philippe Schwemling (Université Paris-Saclay (FR)) Maxence Vandenbroucke (Université Paris-Saclay (FR))

Presentation materials