Feb 18 – 22, 2019
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Comparison of transition radiation measurements with a Si and GaAs pixel sensor on a TimePix3 chip

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 82
Poster Semiconductor Detectors Poster Session A


Florian Dachs (Vienna University of Technology (AT))


Growing energies of particles at modern or planned particle accelerator experiments as well as various cosmic ray experiments require particle identification at gamma factors of up to $\approx 10^5$. At present there are no detectors capable of identifying single charged particles with reliable efficiency in this range of gamma-factors.
New developments in pixel detectors allow to perform simultaneous measurements of the energies and the emission angles of generated Transition Radiation X-rays and to identify particles on the basis of maximum available information about generated TR photons.
Preliminary results of studies of TR energy-angular distributions using Si and GaAs sensors bonded to TimePix3 chips are presented.
Studies were carried out at the CERN SPS facility with 20 $GeV/c$ electrons and muons from 120 to 290 $GeV/c$ using different types of radiators.
This talk will discuss the measurement and analysis techniques used for this experiments as well as comparison of efficiencies of TR registration for both types of sensors.

Primary authors

Dr Anatoli Romaniouk (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Enrico Junior Schioppa (CERN) Serge Smirnov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Jerome Alexandre Alozy (CERN) Michael Campbell (CERN) Piergiorgio Fusco (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Fabio Gargano (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Erik Heijne (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Xavi Llopart Cudie (CERN) Valerio Mascagna (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Heinz Pernegger (CERN) Michela Prest (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Roman Radomskii (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Elisabetta Soldani (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare Bari (IT)) Douglas Michael Schaefer (University of Chicago (US)) Erik Vallazza (Universita e INFN Trieste (IT)) Martin Van Beuzekom (Nikhef National institute for subatomic physics (NL)) Bas Van Der Heijden (Nikhef National institute for subatomic physics (NL)) Florian Dachs (Vienna University of Technology (AT)) Konstantin Filippov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Serguei Konovalov (Russian Academy of Sciences (RU)) Dimitrii Krasnopevtsev (University of Science and Technology of China (CN)) Francesco Loparco (Universita e INFN (IT)) Nicola Mazziotta (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Mr Daniil Ponomarenko (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Diana Pyatiizbyantseva (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Christoph Rembser (CERN) Evgeny Shulga (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Yury Smirnov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Paolo Spinelli Daria Sergeeva (National Research Nuclear University (MEPhI)) Aleksandr Savchenko (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Petr Teterin (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Vladimir.O Tikhomirov (Russian Academy of Sciences (RU)) Alexey Tishchenko (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Konstantin Vorobev (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Michael Cherry (Louisiana State University) Nikita Belyaev (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (RU)) Benedikt Ludwig Bergmann (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Thomas Remy Victor Billoud (Universite de Montreal (CA)) Stanislav Pospisil (Czech Technical University (CZ)) Mr Semen Doronin (CERN) Mr Konstantin Zhukov (CERN) Mr Mikhail Strikhanov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute), Kashirskoe highway 31, Moscow, 115409, Russia)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.