Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB

Mapping the in-plane electric field inside irradiated diodes

Dec 14, 2019, 3:02 PM
POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6 (International Conference Center Hiroshima)

POSTER - Sun: B1F-Meeting room#3, B2F-RAN1/2; Mon-Wed: B1F Meeting rooms #5-6

International Conference Center Hiroshima

Peace Memorial Park, Hiroshima-shi
POSTER Radiation damage and radiation tolerant materials POSTER


Luise Poley (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE))


A significant aspect of the Phase-II Upgrade of the ATLAS detector is the replacement of the current Inner Detector with the ATLAS Inner Tracker (ITk). The ATLAS ITk is an all-silicon detector consisting of a pixel tracker and a strip tracker.
Sensors for the ITk strip tracker have been developed to withstand the high radiation environment in the ATLAS detector after the High Luminosity Upgrade of the Large Hadron Collider at CERN, which will significantly increase the rate of particle collisions and resulting particle tracks.
During their operation in the ATLAS detector, sensors for the ITk strip tracker are expected to accumulate fluences up to 1.5 · 10^15 neq/cm^2 (including a safety factor of 1.5), which will significantly affect their performance.
One characteristic of interest for highly irradiated sensors is the shape and homogeneity of the electric field inside its active area.
For the results presented here, diodes with edge structures similar to full size ATLAS sensors were irradiated up to fluences comparable to those in the ATLAS ITk strip tracker and their electric fields mapped using a micro-focused X-ray beam (beam diameter 2 × 3 μm).
This contribution shows the extension and shape of the electric field inside highly irradiated diodes over a range of applied bias voltages. Additionally, measurements of the outline of the depleted sensor areas allow a comparison of the measured leakage current for different fluences with expectations for the corresponding active areas.

Submission declaration Original and unpublished

Primary authors

Luise Poley (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Charilou Labitan Sai Neha Santpur (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (US)) Andrew Blue (University of Glasgow (GB)) Craig Buttar (University of Glasgow (GB)) Vladimir Cindro (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Igor Mandic (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Vitaliy Fadeyev (University of California,Santa Cruz (US)) Cole Helling (UC Santa Cruz) Javier Fernandez-Tejero (CNM-Barcelona (ES)) Celeste Fleta (Instituto de Microelectrónica de Barcelona, Centro Nacional de Microelectrónica (ES)) Miguel Ullan Comes (CNM-Barcelona (ES)) Dennis Sperlich (Humboldt University of Berlin (DE)) Yoshinobu Unno (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (JP)) Mr Conor Darroch (Technological University Dublin)

Presentation materials